help exchange   Host 49580
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Callington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49580
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2017

Beautiful old cottage and gardens in the Tamar Valley, Cornwall, an area of outstanding natural beauty - between Dartmoor and Bodmin Moor, one mile (on foot) to the River Tamar, half an hour to the south coast and one hour to the north coast (by car).
Sue (Mum) and Grace (daughter) live here, Marcus and various friends and family visit and join in. We are in the early stages of a new plan for our land. Sue has been here for 32 years, raised a family, grown food, flowers and herbs, worked as a healing therapist and run courses and ceremony.
Much of the land is sloping, with limited sunlight hours but we now have a new, south-facing flat piece of land! Our aim is to develop a new community project to grow more food, keep more chickens, plant a new orchard and develop the healing and community side with an emphasis on reconnecting with nature for health.
What’s needed is enthusiasm and flexibility for a wide variety of tasks – and more strength and physical energy than we have! Hours will vary from day to day, and depending on the weather.
Our ideal is to begin with two non-smoking people, robust physically robust and emotionally self-reliant, for one week a month, plus some long weekends, and maybe a bit extra at certain times of the year.
Currently looking for help in 2017:
26th May to 2nd June
23rd to 30th June
28th July to 4th August
22nd t 29th September
We have a caravan or dome for you to stay in, so there is privacy for both you and us. You would arrive on Friday evening, and start work with us on Saturday, for one week with Tuesday off. We work from 10 to 5, with lunch and tea breaks. You would make your own breakfast in the caravan, and share other meals with us. Food preparation, cooking and clearing up is shared by all.
There is a train to Calstock via Plymouth, which is about 3 miles away by road (less walking through the woods) and we can collect and drop off on Fridays. If you are driving, you will need directions as satnav does not get you here (we like it that way!) There is no mobile signal here.
The land is very beautiful, and the bird life is wonderful. We have buzzards, owls, heron, blackbirds, thrushes, robins, wagtails, tits, swallows, swifts, wrens all nesting right outside the door or very close by. There are challenges because we have a lot of slopes and a lot of water. For many years the valley was filled with old cherry trees, and part of my plan is to replant more trees and re-establish a more respectful, sustainable, harmonious relationship between humans and the land.
Tasks in the next year include:
Continued work on permaculture plan
Potting seedlings, planting, composting, mulching, weeding, harvesting, seed collecting
Tree felling, hedging, cutting hazel
Collecting, sawing, stacking wood
Planting new orchard
Building a compost loo
Building, erecting, fixing structures
Painting buildings and signs
Strimming and grass cutting
De-brambling
Caring for chickens
Playing with/ walking dogs (deerhound lurcher and whippet)
Sharing food preparation, cooking and clearing
General cleaning, sorting, organising and mucking in
Although we do our best to match people with tasks that utilise their skills and that they enjoy, as this works best all round, sometimes we all just have to get stuck in. We need people who are confident and self-reliant, and who can be left to get on with a task alone, as well as working with others as the situation demands.
About us:
Sue, aged 61, needs peace and quiet, water and trees. Mother of 4 grown children. Ex home educator. Healer, mentor, teacher, celebrant. Crystal sales business. Currently adapting to brain still being able to visualise the day’s work that I could do at 30, but body not keeping up.
Grace, 24, is a massage therapist, aromatherapist, reflexologist, animal lover, sea spirit, currently having a year off university where she studies herbal medicine.
Marcus lives close by. He is an acupuncturist and astrologer, works with earth energies and leads sacred journeys. He is the only one who can use the big strimmer, and he’d like to share it out a bit.
Seren is a large, hairy, loving deerhound lurcher who loves people.
Isabel is a sweet, energetic, young whippet.
We currently have 5 chickens, but plan to have more soon.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use