help exchange   Host 49607
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Motueka
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.4
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49607
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 16, 2017

Current tasks to do here:

* Mowing long grass with a weed eater and collecting hay.
* Weeding the veggie garden.

We are a family with two almost-teenager girls, living on a 13,500 m2 newly established mini-farm in the Motueka River Valley, with a couple of sheep, goats and chicken. In our first year on this land we have planted dozens of different types of fruit trees and started an extensive veggie garden, trying to live self-sufficient where possible, while being typical IT folks. Christian runs an international software company from home.

We moved from Austria to New Zealand a few years ago and our native language therefore is German.

We're still in the progress of planting trees (mostly natives) for wind protection, as our location is up on a hilltop where it can be windy at times. Our garden is newly planted and takes a lot of attention to make sure the young trees are keep free from weeds. We could genuinely need some help to fight the weeds that continuously try to change our garden beds into weedland again. We can teach you the bits and pieces about permaculture gardening that we've picked up in recent years.

We're keen on hosting helpers 23 years or older, for about one week, more or less. Mostly flexible timing. Deal is 4 hours of work for every night of accommodation and food.

Sorry, you can't smoke on our property and you can't bring any pets. You must have a valid work visa for New Zealand and ideally you have your own car (or bicycles) to explore the region, because we're about 5 km/10 min off the town center. Though, we would be able to bring you to and pick you up in town every day at 9 AM and 3 PM (school times).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use