help exchange   Host 50186
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Diss
All Year: Starting in early 2017
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: Up to 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50186
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2017

Hi there, we both have had busy careers working in Education , mainly in central London, and now, we have moved into an old farmhouse on the edge of a village (with pub) in Suffolk. Our first projects, creating a meditation garden, putting a path through woodland, fedging and creating a kitchen patio have now been completed, thanks to brilliant HelpX volunteers. Builders have now finished doing great things to the house (and awful things to the garden.) So now we are extending a range of fences, 'fedges' and hedges to create diverse habitats within this large and varied garden, and continuing to bring bits back into control after years of neglect. Internally, there has been a fairly major re-arrangment of rooms, which now need basic redecoration, so there is always plenty to do, even on rainy days. In exchange for 4 hours work a day, we have a beautiful self contained annex, one double room with double bed, and a smaller room with 1 + 1 under/pullout single bed, plus own kitchen, bathroom and sitting room. I will stock the kitchen for breakfast and lunch and provide an evening meal for us all to eat together. Parking is available or we can pick you up from either Diss or Thetford. This is a very peaceful rural area, with nationally significant protected Fens virtually on on our doorstep. The Angles Way, a long distant pathway, can be seen from the house. Near by there is fenland, heathland and of course,Thetford Forest. Norwich, Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds are all easy to get to. Happy to consider long weekends and stays of 1 or 2 weeks, anytime from mid August to October 2017. (Photos- main house, annex, the start of the wooded area, annex bedroom and annex sitting room)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use