help exchange   Host 5059
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Ballarat
All Year: All year - after 24th Feb
Area (ha): 12 acres
Persons: 1 - 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 5059
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 14, 2016

UPDATE: October 2016

Currently looking for people to help with painting (outside), gardening / weeding and mowing, or people good with power tools to help with erecting a shed, lining another shed and fencing.

Later in the year and early next year I will also need help with a range of other jobs as I took 2016 off work to spend the time fixing up my farm and renovating my house and would love help from interesting, hardworking, fun loving helpXers, ideally interested in staying for 1 to 2 weeks at a time.

Free accomodation and food in return for 3-4 hours work per day per helper (depending on the jobs). We can adapt jobs and activities to suit the needs of the helpXers. One of our first helpXers was a very talented, experienced rider so she was able to ride one of my horses in a competition for me. Mostly we need help with gardening, painting, fencing, building, cutting up firewood, picking up horse manure, taking care of animals and babysitting. Happy to make it a couple of full days work followed by a couple of days off with me available to drop you off and pick you up from local sights if you don't have a car.

We welcome you to become part of our family during your stay and enjoy sitting around the dinner table in the evenings and learning about where you are from and your previous travels and future plans. My older daughter and I have travelled through most parts of Australia and are happy to give you advice on the "best bits". She has now moved interstate to attend university and only comes home for holidays so most likely it will only be me and my 5 yr old daughter here when you stay.

We have now had several groups of HelpXers stay with us. We have enjoyed most of our experiences but also had some experiences that haven't been as good. We appreciate it when our HelpXers are enthusiastic about helping and interested in learning more about our farm, the local area and culture. We love dinner time conversations and have enjoyed it when our HelpXers have treated us to some of their traditional food. We have loved taking our previous helpXers to see local sights (especially ones only known to locals), teaching them how to ride horses (including jumping) and taking them on trail rides, having campfires and teaching them how to make aussie "damper".

Please note we no longer have any riding horses. We currently only have a foal and a pony (which can be ridden by short, slim adults only). The pony (the white one seen in photos below) is suitable for beginners but due to her height she can only take people up to 5'5" tall and up to 65kg in weight. If you fit those restrictions we are happy to offer you riding lessons on the farm but can no longer offer trail rides. Our other horses have all been sold.

Lori, Ashalyn and Danicia


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use