help exchange   Host 51258
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Fryerstown
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51258
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 21, 2016

Seeking homestay for organic gardening and rural maintenance in country Victoria National Park.

This is a rural property within the Castlemaine Diggings National Park, located on 5 acres, ten minutes outside the township of Castlemaine (population 7,000) and just over anhour from Melbourne. Castlemaine is a cool town for those interested in alternative lifestyles, there are constant events on relating to community, arts music, food etc. There is also many bushwalks, mountain bike tracks etc around the area. We are on the Great Dividing Trail Bushwalk.

Location
The property is surrounded by Box-Ironbark Forest which is abundant with birds, kangaroos, sugar gliders etc. This is a small hobby farm which is a quiet space surrounded by nature, has clean fresh tank water, fresh eggs from the chickens and vegetables from the garden. Yet close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the lovely town of Castlemaine and a short train ride from Melbourne.

Everyone on the property is into sustainability, has a love of nature, loves to grow and preserve their own food. Damien and I are also active in the outdoors including camping, bushwalking, canoeing etc. We also practice yoga daily and have basic level yoga teaching qualifications if helper would like to learn. We are in our mid 40ís and are both ecologists and run a small ecology company (mostly in wetlands). There are times when we will be working or camping away for a few days and guests are free to come along if that interests them. We also have a 19-year-old who lives with us who is into music and fashion design. there is also another couple who live on the block in their mid-30ís. There are 2 dogs, chickens and two sheep.

Seeking
We're looking for someone or a couple to help out with the garden and general property maintenance. Duties vary from gardening, orchard maintenance, lawn cutting, fence repair, small building/repair jobs (for any keen handymen) and just general tidying up (window cleaning, oiling exterior and decks, cleaning gutters, some painting, etc.).

Skills required are: organic garden experience would have an advantage, any handyman skills.
Overall we're looking for someone who is considerate with a sense of pride and initiative, who learns quickly and can work well in a team.

Hours for accommodation only is 2 hours of work per day or 14 hours per week. Up to 4 hours a day if person would like food and accomodation. Something in between if for example you would like evening meals only. otherwise we will have a fridge and cooking facilities in the cabin for personal food.

Accommodation- Helpx person has exclusive use of our newly constructed timber cabin (fully insulated) - (see last photo) under an oak tree. The cabin has cupboards, sink, hot plate, small fridge, new split system heater/cooler etc.
Toilet, bathroom, laundry, large kitchen is 50m away in the main house for sharing (see lounge photo). There is free Wi-Fi (generally good), limited mobile range but a phone you can use in the main house (unlimited local and national calls). Smokers will have to smoke outside as we aim to live a healthy and active lifestyle.

We have car/camper parking spaces if you have a car otherwise we may be able to arrange return transport into Castlemaine where we go regularly. There are also bikes and it is a 30-40-minute ride. There are many trains daily to Melbourne from Castlemaine which takes 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Would prefer someone who:
- Has similar environmental/community values
- Likes dogs
- Preferably has own transport, but not necessarily
- Does not take drugs and is not an excessive drinker

three days minimum or longer stay is possible.

If you are interested please send me an email with your questions and your application and we can go from there.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use