help exchange   Host 52172
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Beechworth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: max 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 52172
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2017

Hello! Ciao! We are Resi and Vince. We are brand new owners of 12 acres paradise in the making! We moved in mid-September, we are eager to give back to the exchange community and welcome some helpers!

Our journey started in 2013, when we packed up our home in North Wales and travelled to Australia, New Zealand and Italy, mostly thanks to exchange hosts. We have learnt a huge wealth of information, visited amazing places and make great forever friends. We have now decided to give something back to the community.

Resi, 43, is Italian but lived for over 20years in the UK before moving to Australia, thanks to Vince, 36, who is Australian and together we have settled in North East Victoria, in a lovely town called Beechworth.

As we mentioned, our new home is a 12 acres lifestyle block and is a bit of an empty canvas. So it is ideal if you like to make an impact and would like to be part of designing a new permaculture project. There is a bit of everything that needs doing. We would like your help to map out the land, set-up a Ďstartí off the vegetable patch, plant trees, tend to the chickens and choose which plants to grow (expect trips to garden centre, in the name of research of course!). But there is also work to be done indoors, such as finishing putting plasterboard up and painting, fixing skirting board and architraves. Donít worry if you donít know what you are doing, it will be a just question of time!

We would also like to hear from you if you are interested in Permaculture Design. If so, Resi would like your help in starting our very own design. Resi is a qualified Permaculture Designer in the UK and we are very much looking forward to create our abundant landscape.


Who are we? We both enjoy travelling, discover new places, the outdoors and sustainable lifestyles. Resi particularly enjoys growing vegetables, preserving the harvest and she is also a bit of an IT geek. Vince is an outdoor sports fan, from mountain biking, wild swimming, trail running and more. New hobby includes home brewing and enjoying the product of his hard work. We both have a love for food and cooking, and socialising.

What we expect? Ideally we would like 4 days of help (ave 5hrs day), or any variations in between! in exchange for all week food and lodging. We will provide all the food you need for all the time you are staying with us and a comfy place to sleep. We do eat meat, however during summer time is mostly vegetarian, with some yummy bacon or something! If you are vegetarian or vegan, letís chat - that is not an issue - but we will need to do some extra planning! Resi used to be vegan and we also like to eat vegetarian, so itís not an issue. This also applies to any other dietary requirements within reason.

During summer time, we might be starting early in the morning, have a long lunchtime break as the temperature can easily reach 35C or more, and then continue later in the day. Winter time might be a different story. We donít know how the weather will affect the property, we are quite high up and there is very little tree cover (for now!)

Whatís to do on your day off? Beechworth is a gold mining town with heaps and heaps of history and character. Google it and look for the 'Explore Beechworth', there are plenty of videos to inspire you. During winter we are about 1 to 1.5hrs drive to the ski slopes of Falls Creek and Mount Hotham (note, there are a few charges to access the field - ask us about it!) Bushwalking and camping abounds and there are lots of free camping places to go and explore. We are also in a prime wine making area, cycle tracks abound and if micro brewing interests you, every local town has at least one micro-brewery!

If you have a working visa, there is plenty of work in the area from eateries to harvest picking. As we are new to the area, we donít know many local people yet, but we will do what we can to point you in the right direction.

If you like the sound of what we have to offer, get in touch and find out more. Couple/friends are welcome.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use