help exchange   Host 52272
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Co Cork
All Year: April to September
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 52272
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 6, 2017

I have an organic garden with poly-tunnel and an ornamental garden
A particular kind of life style
Experience self sufficiency here, and sustainable living, where food comes from, how water and the house is heated
I produce my own electricity from Solar panels and a water turbine
Main things to do are around the garden, weeding, transplanting, grass cutting and so on.
There is also wood chipping gathering and stacking wood. We go down to the sea nearby and collect seaweed.
Accommodation is in an another house near the main house, there is room upstairs for 2 people sharing. It does not have central heating but a masonry wood stove you can fire up once a day to keep the damp out.Also I have a caravan near the stream when there is a couple in the guest house
All meals are in the main house. Breakfast you make your self and we share lunch and dinner.
I have a keen interest in Self sufficiency and sustainable living

this means also turning off switches and saving energy, and unplugging phone chargers. There are lots of woofers in our area, I try to have two helpers at a time however it is not always possible. I was a member of Woof Ireland for several years, this year I changed to Help X
A degree of independence and the ability to work alone is sometimes necessary
I teach Tai Chi and Gazing Meditation you are welcome to join if you wish
I do a variety of different things, I still keep a few honey bees and go sea fishing.
You can come fishing or sailing with me in the summer months.
I used to do basket making but only rarely now
In my free time I do Irish set dancing and play the whistle (Irish flute)
You can come to the pub with me on Tuesday evenings and try it out
Bicycles are available to tour around the beautiful Coomhola valley
I can take you to nearby places of interest time permitting.
Your help is greatly appreciated as this lifestyle is work orientated.
I need your help 5 hours per day 5 days a week Sat. Sun. Free
Useful things to bring are garden gloves, a hot water bottle and rubber boots (Wellies)


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use