help exchange   Host 52420
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Tauranga
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.6
Persons: 1-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 52420
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 16, 2017

Hello... a bit about us and what we do on our own special little speck of earth here in Oropi...

We are set on a 13.5 acre life-style block about 20mins to Tauranga, 30mins to Mount Maunganui beach and also Rotorua.

I can pick people up from Tauranga city centre or Bethlehem if using public transport.

We have just put the garlic in and the glasshouse has the winter-crop beans over the next few months and then several berry and fruit crops over summer (yum!).

Our in-progress big project this spring is to re-establish the super-large vege garden with heirloom varieties to feed the property and the community (and preserve the heritage seeds for future generations), while implementing Permaculture principles and eventually Bio-dynamics for more self-sufficiency.

I have a cute dog and occasionally a couple of teenage goats from over the fence plus the 'neigh'bours horse/s doing some grass control and we have 20 chickens and bantams!

There are usually 3-4 flatmates in the house as well as myself, a friend in his bus over at the grading shed, a family of 3 in the separate cottage.

I have a bunk room available, plus another single/twin room (all shared bathroom) with wifi for basic internet use.

We have a lovely community here and with a brand new local hall there will be loads of fun and festivities coming up over the next few months!

I am looking for helpers for general yard and horticultural work and maybe some building, house-work or other odd jobs.

The days and weeks are varied so there is always something happening around here, inside and out!

I would prefer vege/semi-vegetarian, but if meat-eaters don't mind cooking for themselves then facilities are available.

Work hours/days are flexible (4hrs a day per night-stay covers food, bed and limited wifi) and smoking outside on the covered deck please.

Our little community looks forward to meeting you :)

Hi everyone.. I have space available now for 1-2 helpers, but do check in as things change around here daily!

(please note: this is a large and complex property and also huge house to maintain, with many occupants and projects on the go at any time that I run on my own as well as working away some days... please only apply if you are able and/or willing to do any task that may be 'on the list' for the short period you are here.. I try to find things that fit different workers and their preferences and experience, but if you require more attention, this may not suit you)

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use