help exchange   Host 54201
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 - 7
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54201
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 11, 2018

A young female helper (often more) and I would like company in our activities on this beautiful shore of The North Sea!

Together we'll find some combination of your interests and the needs of this place. Here is a great variety of activities to enjoy: It may be gardening, house- and boat maintenance, daily household, dogwalking ... A few hours a week.

We'll also be happy for some leisure time company; enjoying this place and this nature!

Early spring (from now on) would be best, but later may be fine too. Flexible time and duration.

Some nights this spring and summer we'll have many guests. Then you may need to share room with the other helper. Therefore it's easiest to accept girls as new guests now; for this season.

I provide the instructions/teaching you need, and am around for some co-work and for discussions/questions. I like discussions and new ideas. You’ll be relatively independent to structure your time yourselves, with my help.

I'm happy if you work 15-20 hours a week in average.

A neighbour has offered to help us develop some good permaculture gardening.

I often host a dog for neighbours.

Here are work clothes and boots.

My home is on rural Tofterøy island; an hour's bus ride south-west of Bergen city. Wild and beautiful nature.

The short video below, is from the bay beneath my house and its close surroundings. Shows much of what we can see from my house and garden - places I'll be happy to show you with my boat.

We'll enjoy many comfortable teambuilding moments, relaxing in my fire heated garden tub - a place for story sharing and laughs. I am introverted, but there I overcome it easy.

You'll have free access to my boat club's kayaks etc. (12 km away.)

You may lend my row boat and fishing equipment.

Lend my bicycles.

Here is good wifi.

You share kitchen with the other helper(s) and a long-term tenant in rooms next to yours. My guests normally keep a separate household and prepare their own food. (You buy; I pay.)

More on me:
Father of three wonderful adults, and grandfather of one.
Retired from my job as government adviser on education.
As a trusted member of the Humanist Association, I am a Ceremony Officiant, and I wed couples sometimes. (Sorry; my license is for Norwegian residents only! ;-) )

Basic values here: Mutual respect, fun, consideration for people and environment /living sustainably - being trustworthy and responsible!

Welcome to a place for stress-free activity, learning, teaching and great nature experiences, in good company!

1: The house seen from the garden tub. Guest kitchen upstairs left. Vegetable beds in front.
2: My 24-foot boat on one of the many islands around here. I like to swim all year round. Company is appreciated! :-) When possible, I am naturist in and around water. Letting go of symbolic barriers like that, enhances my feeling of connection to the nature - and to my guests too (when they are fine with it, of course)! (Easier to conquer shyness with strangers, who are close for just a while!)
3: The ocean and a part of the garden, seen from the ground floor. Tree house under construction. Fire heated tub with me and guests: A place for relaxing, laughs, conversations, connecting - personal growth. Important for the team-building here!
4 and 5: The two guest rooms. Collapsable sofa (additional bed) is added later.
6: My guests are appreciated company both in and around my boat. (Photo of me and my daughter.)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use