help exchange   Host 54641
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Western Isles
All Year: 3 months June - Augu 2017
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 54641
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2017

We are building a small 8-bed bunkhouse on an island,in the Outer Hebrides, Scotland. The bunkhouse is being built on the ruin of an old traditional ‘blackhouse’ and we intend to cover/clad it with the original stone. We have a builder who will erect the house. However we will need help with the stone cladding of the building. Ideally we would like someone who has some experience of working with stone or would be interested in learning about stonework. Someone who is keen to do demanding physical work for a short period of time would be ideal. In exchange for working 4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week , our volunteer would have their own room, use of the house, meals provided and internet access. This work will begin in May and continue until August. A volunteer could come for a couple of weeks, a month, whatever length of time would suit them.

The island is beautiful with long sandy beaches, renowned for its flowers and wild life in early summer.It is in the centre of the Western Isles string of islands and is connected to the larger island of North Uist by causeway. It has a ferry connection to the more northerly islands of Harris and Lewis. From it the whole of the Hebrides could be easily explored at the week - end. It’s a lively place in the summer, attracting lots of visitors, cyclists and walkers.

We are Chris and Mary, retired and very enthusiastic about our project. We have two sons in their twenties, both studying and working away from home now, but keen to come home and help out when they can this summer. We have lots of visitors and would enjoy the prospect of a volunteer. We would be happy to show you about, take you places, give you lifts, introduce you to people and tell you about the area. We have kayaks - this is a great place for coastal rowing - and bicycles to explore the local area.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use