help exchange   Host 5474
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Rouvenac
All Year: not winter
Area (ha):
Persons: 10
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 5474
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 16, 2016

We are an anglo-french couple building an ecological (straw bale and earth and straw) house for our family in the foothills of the Pyrenees. We live in an 'eco-hamlet' of five houses, at the moment we are currently living in a barn space which we built ourselves, learning the techniques we are now using to build the house. We have been hosting large groups of helpers over several years and it has been an enriching experience all round. This year we will be needing help to do the last coat of rendering interior and exterior, and the floors (a mix of earth lime and cow dung). We are hoping to move into the house before the end of the year. This project provides an apprenticeship in low cost building techniques, and beautiful countryside to explore in your time off. We expect 5 hours work a day in exchange for meals and accommodation (caravan, tipi, outdoor shower, compost toilet). There a places to put up tents or park vans. Our ideal helpers have a genuine desire to learn about ecobuilding techniques, enjoy physical work and like to live simply, close to nature. An ideal length of stay could be from anything from two weeks to the whole summer. Work hours can be flexible with whole days off planned for exploring the area. There are lakes, rivers, mountains, all within easy reach, as are small villages with lots going on in terms of concerts and events over the summer. In exchange for a genuine commitment to the project in the time that you are here, Roger is ready to teach what he knows about architecture and ecobuilding and take you with him to the local natural hot baths or the lake whenever he goes. We have a big vegetable patch where I need help trying out permaculture techniques. I am also involved in an aromatic plant growing project with a group of friends, there is always some work to do in the fields, The food is mostly vegetarian but some meat occasionally appears on the table.
For a helper's blog (NOT our blog) describing time at our place look at http://makingsenseofthings.info/tag/eco-building/ (weeks 5 to 9).
Look forward to meeting you,
Lesley

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use