help exchange   Host 55378
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Gratwein
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55378
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2017

Hello,
we are family (Guido, Beli, Johann 3 and Artur 2), currently working on the dream of turning our garden into a little permaculture paradise and growing as many food supplies as possible on our own.

Also we are about to set up a meeting place for families (Familiengarten), where they can just get together, share facilities, help each other with different tasks, find prepared learning environments for their children and have their children looked after if needed, all of this in the sense of unschooling.

We are at the very beginning with all of this and are looking for people to help us with all kinds of things: gardening, finishing of the house (we renovated an old house and live upstairs, sharing it with another family),household routine, looking after the kids, collecting wild herbs, cooking, making learning materials for the Familiengarten, turning the old shed into a "garden kitchen" ...

Also we are thinking about setting up a photo studio and a dark-room in our basement, but as priority is not so high, we will simply wait for somebody to come along who is really interested and then start this project :-)

Our boys are really very lively and we are letting them grow up as freely as possible, so helpers who join us should be very tolerant to noise and chaos.

Also we really appreciate it if helpers show initiative and are able to find things to do on their own from time to time, because often things around here get so crazy that we donīt have time to explain every project in great detail or work alongside our helpers.

We live in a village just outside Graz (Graz North is about 10 min. by car, Graz main train station is 11 min by train, trains leave every 20 - 60 min). Gratwein has everything you need within walking distance from our house: four supermarkets, organic food store, chemist, post office, print shop, coffee shop, pharmacy, banks...). For going out we recommend Graz of course but there are also some nice opportunities in the neighbour village which can be reached by bike.

We speak German (obviously), fluent English, ok Spanish and know some basics in French, Hungarian and Italian. Guido is a technical Engineer and I work in addiction prevention and freelance as a photographer. We have both travelled quite a bit and used to do a lot of couchsurfing and hosting, as well as wwoofing, so I hope we know what it takes to make somebody feel comfortable and also what is a fair workload in exchange for food and accommodation.

We have a small but cosy guest room with a double bed available for you and we cook vegetarian / vegan. Of course you can also you use our office with internet, printers etc. .

Looking forward to meeting new people, donīt hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions!
Beli

Here is detailed description from the last family that stayed with us: https://caravazikblog.wordpress.com/2017/08/28/une-semaine-a-gratwein/#more-1194

Update October 2017:

Current projects:
-prepare and plant large batch of flowers for bees
-empty small shed and build sauna
-make montessori bead material
-make (high)bed for beans for next year
-dry and store seeds for next year
-harvest wild herbs for winter
-make juice, dried fruit etc. ..
-build solar oven & dryer
-make storage system for Zero Waste Shopping /
Food Coop

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright Đ 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use