help exchange   Host 55441
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.12
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55441
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 3, 2017

Hello!

No help required at this time thanks.

We (Suzanne and David) are a couple in our late 40s with 2 kids who are away at university. We have a 1/3 acre property in a residential area of New Plymouth, just 2 kilometres from the centre of town and within walking distance of a safe swimming beach and the coastal walkway.

We have recently completed studies in Organic Horticulture so are developing a permaculture garden. So far we have planted an orchard and made and planted raised garden beds. We have a couple of chickens, but no other pets or livestock.

Future projects include installing a rainwater collection tank, building a permanent chicken coop and maintaining the existing gardens.

I work Monday to Friday and my interests are reading and cooking. David is at home and is into hunting, fishing and cooking. We try to eat seasonally, from our garden where possible. David also brews beer and makes wine. I make Kombucha.

Accommodation is in our home. We can host a couple, or two single people. Our understanding of HelpX is 4 hours work per person per day, in exchange for three meals and accommodation. We understand there are other arrangements, but we would be happy with the above, or a variation of it.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use