help exchange   Host 55552
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Rhayader
All Year: June to end August
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 55552
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 8, 2017

******This vacancy has now been filled, so we are not looking for helpers at the moment.******

We are looking for a helper, 2 friends or a couple for summer 2017, ideally arriving mid June and staying until the end of August, primarily to help with our holiday accommodation business although some help with animal care would also be useful.

We are a family of 3 at home, John, Steph and our 14 year old daughter, with an older son who now living away, returning occasionally.

Helpers will be involved with the day to day running of our bunkhouse, tipi and small campsite; booking people in and out, answering enquiries, ensuring that the premises are clean and tidy, changing beds, laundry and general cleaning, grass cutting, and perhaps occasionally preparing simple meals for guests. Some days can be really hectic when there is a changeover between two big groups, other days when a group is staying for several nights, for example, there may be nothing to do except a quick inspection and dispose of rubbish.

In summer animal care is minimal; the poultry need letting out in the morning and shutting up in the evening and ponies and sheep just need an eye to ensure they are all healthy, have water and no problems are developing.

Initially helpers will be working with John, who will show everything that is required. Once confident you will be left to work on your own, with the view that by the beginning of August you will be able to take charge so that he can take time out to go away for a few weeks with his daughter.

Steph, meanwhile, has employment away from the farm, but will be around in the evenings and weekends throughout, and able to assist with any problems that may have arisen and to offer advice and help as required.

This is more of a lifestyle experience than a job, where the distinction between work and pleasure often becomes blurred; for example, and whilst preparing evening meals for our guests could be described as work it frequently becomes a social evening, spending time getting to know them and discussing all manner of subjects.

Sometimes things can be demanding, both physically and mentally; at other times easy and relaxed but, whatever, helpers need to be sociable but also happy working on their own, and able to work on their own initiative.

100% reliability is essential, although of course either of us is available at the end of a phone in an emergency.

Accommodation will be either in the house, a caravan or in the bunkhouse depending on bookings; even our tipi could be available if you wanted a really nomadic experience, or you could mix and match to suit. Either way meals will be taken as part of the family and provided the day to day tasks are completed satisfactorily you will be free to organise spare time as you wish. The opportunity of horse riding may be available to competent riders, and can be an excellent way of exploring the local countryside.

Ideally helpers would have their own vehicle, or at least a clean driving license so that we can put you on the insurance for the farm vehicle, as our location is quite isolated. There is an irregular bus service in the village about 30 minutes walk from here.

For the right person there may be an opportunity to extend the stay until early November.

Pictures show our tipi and give a feel for the surrounding countryside, the outside of the bunkhouse, Steph out exploring the countryside on her Fell pony, our two Exmoor foals and one of the bunkhouse groups enjoying themselves round the dinner table.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use