help exchange   Host 55832
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


brisbane
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: singles or couples
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55832
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 5, 2017

Hello and Welcome.

Currently I am seeking practical minded experienced people with an idea how to do renovation /repairs.
Even basic skills in carpentry, woodworking, sanding and painting, general repairing. I can advise how to do things, but I need to have people who have good common sense to be able to teach you practical skills. Please understand that the house is messy with the renovations at this moment in time BUT it does get better week by week.


Odd job / handyman or handywoman helper or
carpenter / woodworking / painting / sanding
...4~5 hrs per day per person 5 days per week.
...Food and Accommodation


single males or
single females or
couples. I can accommodate up to 5 people depending upon the mix.


The beach is at the bottom of the street, the shops and trains and bus at the other end. Aldi is over the road. It is quite a pleasant and cruisey area. The house is a large 100+ year old timber "Queenslander" home. It was originally my six bedroom family home now divided into three apartments. You will be living in your own apartment. (No tenant anymore) It is a self contained HelpX apartment upstairs. Oh and Yes..there is free wi-fi!

This is the home of the children's grandmother and great grandmother. At this home there are three separate self contained apartments. You would share the upstairs apartment with other helpxers only....three large shared bedrooms.

The helpx apartment is a non smoking area. Smoking outside is fine.
Each of you are responsible for keeping the apartment clean and tidy during your stay. The next person expects/deserves to arrive to fresh sheets and clean apartment.

We are an average Aussie family, open to cultural diversity. There are four generations of us to interact with. Grandchildren and their parents live only 15 minutes away.
We four, (Great Grandmother, Grandmother and two grandchildren) are just back from six week camping/travelling trip between Brisbane and Cairns. We really enjoy to have the children exposed to other people so they can be helpful, broadminded and tolerant adults. They are at my home each school day afternoon.We are a happy and stable family. We look forward to hearing from you.

The house is in need of tender love and care. The house is very structurally sound. It just needs lots of small repairs as I have been devoting my time to nurturing others and have neglected the appearance of my home. It is not beautiful at the moment, but it is not really horrible either,(Old and well lived in) But that will change with your help and mine as we brighten and tidy.

We are flexible to be able to meet your requirements and ours. We are a close knit family and there is always something that needs doing or a family get together or relax time or your own time. We adapt to each new person or persons that both sides have a rewarding experience.

We dine together of an evening and lunch for chats and often cards, darts, yahtzee, good conversations, share stories, experiences etc.
When we dine together it is downstairs in my area.
Because the entire household comes together to share time together this also means that there is a designated smoking area in this shared environment.

Apartment 2 is for Grandmother(me:Renaete) and Apartment 3 is for Great Grandmother (Vetia). They are all separate and self contained.

Whether we are hosting a person who is interested in the general help around the home or an experienced handyperson.....painting or weeding or sanding or nailing or cutting or varnishing etc...let's chat about it and lay down our expectations of each other first.

Help around the home would be 4~5hrs per day in exchange for food and accommodation. I work within the scope of your existing abilities and can teach you some more D.I.Y. skills. I have power and manual tools to make efficient job.

If you have common sense and practical mind and some basic skills and a zest for life and enjoyment we can create wonders. The house needs a 'makeover' not a reconstruction.

We look forward to welcoming you into our home.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use