help exchange   Host 55846
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Vaivio
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 55846
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2017

We are Marja (finnish sign language interpreter, homemom, from Finland) and Mick (carpenter, from Ireland) and we have two small kids Leo (soon 3 years) and Luna (9 months old). We live in the countryside in North Karelia 20 km from Joensuu center.

Our project is to build a small straw bale round house to be our home. We have decided to settle down in Finland and after a few years of thinking we decided to build our own home instead of buying an old house. After that decision was made we bought 5 hectares of land in December 2016. We bought it very close (500m) from where we live now and also close to an organic farm Pikkunuppu where Marja has grown up.

We have now cleared the road to the house, applied for building permission and gotten it and had the trees cut to boards for the house. After we got the building permission we cleared the building plot from trees and we did a natural stone foundation. Now (august, september, october) is the time to build a timber floor and hopefully start on the post and beam structure from the trees we peeled. Next year we will continue with a timber roof, straw bale walls and a natural clay plaster. We are doing the whole project with a small budget trying to use as much as possible natural and recycled materials from local resources.

Accommodation: in our current house upstairs, there are two rooms with a bed or mattresses.
Food: vegetarian, we may occasionally ask you to help cooking
Getting here: we can pick you up from Joensuu (from train, bus or airport)
Work time: 5 days a week, 30 hours or more :)
No previous experience required in what we are doing but it is a plus. Carpenters and carpenter minded people are super-welcome!
Languages: English, Finnish, Finglish
Internet, Wifi (off at night)
Free time: we live by two lakes to swim in, we can give you bicycles to go for a cycle and you can cycle to Joensuu, you can do berry and mushroom picking later in the summer, walks in the woods, we have regular sauna

During the whole project we are very happy to receive any volunteer help given so if you are interested in doing something with us, please contact and come to help.

Please notice our blog, there is a link to it above. In the blog you will find more about what we are doing just now.

Because of cancellations we are still looking for help for September and also October. Welcome!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use