help exchange   Host 5635
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Llandysul
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 6in caravan/camping
Category: Other
Host ID: 5635
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 7, 2016

The wild bee project is coming along well, but we are hoping to put in a lot more effort this year - especially over Easter 2015. The long term aim is a centre that would be open to the public, but it is very early stages yet. The bees are here and a nursery of bee friendly plants has been started. We are also experimenting with nesting boxes above and below ground. I am also looking for help with the grounds: putting in paths, a re-organisation of the herb & flower areas. The spring fed pond is still looking for someone with knowledge to get this free of mud and sludge.
General work loads include getting wood down from the woodland and maybe some coppicing with help from our local transition group.House and caravan -some basic maintenance + larger projects: including the finishing of a bed-sit room above my hay barn, Most skills could be utilised as can a willingness to muck in. Whatever, you will be made welcome.

I have a small converted dairy as the main house with a lovely static (disability) caravan in grounds that sleeps up to 6 (2 x double bed + seats in living area) in a very beautiful area of mid west Wales in the Teifi Valley. (Nearest train stations Carmarthen 20 miles & Aberystwyth 33 miles) We are just on the outskirts of Penrhiwllan (1 mile from pub & shop) set within a valley with 3 other houses near by, and 5 miles away from the market town of Newcastle Emlyn & Llandysul. I have 1.5 acres around the house and 11 acres of woodland across the small River Cwechyr at the foot of the land.
1 acre is still meadow and the rest is being converted to garden for food & flowers. There is a spring - which feeds the caravan & garden plus a pond. Some exciting insects and birds this year including a Hobby, A Humming Bird Moth and a Southern Hawker Dragonfly in both nympth & fly stages.
There are plenty of bridlepaths & footpaths around the property. However, there is limited public transport from the village.
There is a choice of staying in the caravan or camping on the land and I can offer food as well as the above accommodation. Hours can be flexible and I am happy to transport people around locally when it fits in with my work schedule. Live music, Cinema & good food is a large part of life here.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use