help exchange   Host 5725
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Tarzali
All Year: weather permitting
Area (ha): 17
Persons: usually 2 at once
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 5725
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2017

NB - January to March are our wettest months and not suitable for visitors most years.

We are a family with four adult children (who sometimes visit us), two young teenagers and a baby. Together we work, learn, grow food and connect with our local community. We have lived here on our mostly-organic farm for about 10 years. It is approximately half rainforest and half pasture. A permanent creek borders one side of our property and offers clean water, swimming, wildlife observation and a relaxing place to visit.

Our aim is to continue to clean up the farm and plant more gardens, orchards and native trees (including bushtucker), with an aim to produce a lot of our own fresh food. These areas need weeding, mulching, planting, pruning, fencing etc. We have a chickens, cows (and sometimes calves), and one cat. We have had horses, dogs, a pig, ducks, guinea pigs, other poultry in the past. We love animals.

There will be ongoing building projects at our place as we maintain, repair and extend the house and build outdoor structures including facilities for visitors.

We expect approximately 3 hours of labour each day per adult. If there is limited work to do outside or weather is not suitable to outdoor work, help with the children, housework and meal preparation/clean-up is encouraged. We may also be doing some renovation work - building, painting etc.

You will most likely need appropriate footwear for muddy conditions, clothes which you don't mind getting dirty and a hat.

We offer accommodation depending on our current circumstances and the weather. This may be: tent (various sizes), caravans (sleeps 1-2) or your own accommodation (van, etc). We have no spare rooms in the house right now.

We offer three varied meals a day. Our meals may be vegetarian or include meat. We have a washing machine and clothesline or clothes dryer for you to attend to your own laundry needs. Wireless internet is available. Most mobile phones work here.

If you are travelling as a family with children, we can negotiate hours of work and meals provided. Generally we provide some evening meals only for visiting families plus camping/van space, power, water in exchange for less work.

We are accepting short-term guests at the moment as we are often very busy with family commitments. Preferred stays are 3 to 7 days. Longer by negotiation.

Cultural Exchange: please share your foreign language and cooking skills with our family.

There are waterfalls, walking tracks, lakes, markets (most weekends) and other local attractions nearby. You will need transport though, we are not walking distance to anything much, or you'll need to wait until we go out/negotiate lifts.

Initial contact via email please.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use