help exchange   Host 57253
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Vesilahti
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 57253
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 6, 2017

We are a family of three living in the country side, about 30 minutes from Tampere. We moved here to live our dream- to have animals and cultivate some of our own food. In our farm we are learning new skills about renovating, permaculture, gardening and taking care of our animals. We are keen to get to know people from different cultures, share our experiences and learn something new from you too!

We have two big dogs, a cat, hens and roosters. We are fascinated by the idea of being self sufficient. However, we do realize that its hard to achieve in Finland, where the ground is frozen during the winter. Currently we are renovating downstairs and due to this some of our facilities are limited. We have an outdoor sauna. The tasks include mainly gardening, logging, outdoor cleaning, general household chores, taking care of animals and if you have renovating skills you are welcome to help us indoors as well! Things to do around here:
- we have bikes that you can use
- If there is snow/ice you can iceskate and ski for instance
- Nevertheless you will always be able to walk around wherever you want. In forest etc
- Kim works in Tampere, so he can give you a lift there and back if you want to go and see it.

What will you get:
- Your own room, 9m2, with rather nice and comfy bed (120cm wide).
- Breakfast, lunch, dinner (we try to avoid eating read meat, but we do not follow any ideology) What we excpect from you:
-We are not strict or fuzzy about how much you work each day
you can plan your schedule and decide when you want to work.

The main thing is that you enjoy your time here with us and help around when needed. We have a small baby boy, hes only 8 months old, so he keeps Kaisa occupied most of the day. Kim works five days a week. At the moment we dont have any ecological farming going on, because renovating our house takes up all our time. Permaculture and all kinds of different gardening plans need to wait until our house is more ready and comfortable to live in. Thus, at the moment we consider us cultural exchange hosts, more than organic farming hosts.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use