help exchange   Host 57500
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Darwin
All Year: No
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57500
Region: Northern Territory

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 2, 2017

We do not expect to be taking helpers until March 2018.

We live near the beautifully refreshing Berry Springs, about 60kms south of Darwin on the way to the northern entry of Litchfield National Park. We are a husband, wife and 18yo son who like the peace and quiet of the bush. We are seeking 1 or 2 HelpX helpers who likes to interact a little, as well as enjoy time on their own.

We have built the house ourselves and it's not quite complete. We hope you can help us to keep up with the jobs in the garden so that we can finish building. Since the house is generally very open plan and does not have a toilet door, we have found it best when people stay in a tent or their own caravan and join us during the day.

Your accommodation:
A tent in the bush with your own composting toilet and shower under a tree. We can supply power (if you have a caravan) and a gas stove to your area and you can have a campfire pending fire restrictions and your familiarity with fire safety in Australia. You are welcome to use our bathroom with a big 'outdoor' bath. You are also welcome to share meals and time with us in the home.

Your Meals:
Meals are either together or you can enjoy your own camp fire cooking. We all eat differently, so we can speak about dietary requirements and the best option for meals.

Our water supply is delicious spring water that we pump out of the ground.

Tasks include:
4 - 6 hour a day of work based on projects including:
weeding, seeding, Bio dynamic composting and spreading preparations, mowing, whip snipping, removing garden beds, checking irrigation, spreading mulch, cleaning walls and floors.
There are also building jobs for those who know how to build.


What else you'll need:
Sun protection including: Hat, long sleeve shirt and trousers for sun protection.
Sunglasses for eye safety.
Closed in shoes for working in the garden that are okay to become dirty.
Personal items such as soap, shampoo etc

Travel:
Berry Springs is limited in transport options and the closest shop is about 5kms along a hot road. You can catch a lift to town with us, but having your own transport to go the springs and town is a better option.

Who we are and what we could share with you:
Louise (that's me) is a homeopath prescribing anthroposophic remedies which is the same 'methodology' as Bio-dynamic agriculture, and Steiner /Waldorf Schools. I am the motivator to have help because I come and go from the property and have not been able to keep up with the things I have created here. Without me the gardening, housekeeping and finishing the house is not happening and I've hardly been there for 2 years. I am hoping that we can work on bringing it back to brilliance together. I can teach you how to make bread, Bd compost piles, cook by a fire and maybe a few other things. I am happy to converse about biodynamics and things of a progressive nature.
Pete is a builder and in his spare time goes fishing, bow hunting and enjoys beer and cigarettes. He works in the heat all day and likes to relax in his shed at night. But he also cooks a great roast in the camp oven and loves to show people how to shoot with a bow, or TRY to catch a barramundi. Pete has built the whole house and I have done all the finishing such as sanding, painting, tiling.
It's such a big job to do in the tropical heat and when we had WWOOF help a few years ago it was fabulous.

Isaac works 4 - 5 days a week in retail and then likes a lot of down time on his own. He is an ace at board games, and we hope you can have a few games with us.

Luna and Bertha are our dogs who like to help with all the work, go for walks around the block and give a lot of love.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use