help exchange   Host 57878
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Merton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57878
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 12, 2017

Start date 23 April onwards

Hi and thanks for reading

We live on a 20 ac farm about 1.5 -2 hours from Melbourne, 30 mins from Mansfield and 1 hour from Mt Buller Snow fields.

We are a Christian family of 7 - with 5 crazy kids and 2 coffee loving adults who are a little bit quirky but love to live life to the fullest. We only started our journey towards self sustainability 3 years ago and in that time we have managed to start and finish a few projects but there is more that we would love to do.

We are looking for like minded people, preferably non smoking and no drugs!! We are crazy enough already! We are wanting to swap 5 hours of easy labour a day , 5 days a week for accommodation and food. We can't offer Internet as we only get a small amount ourselves, but in saying that we do have minimal Telstra coverage if you want to bring your own mobile modem for your personal use.
Labour would entail, 3 hours unsupervised gardening in the morning, planting seeds, plants, vegetables, weeding, hoeing around fruit trees etc. After lunch we would work together on the project (depending on what we are up to) for 2 hours only. The rest of the day is free for you to do what you like.

You are most welcome to join in the shenanigans that go on here but please do not feel obliged to join in. Also when I go to town you are most welcome to come. There is a V/line bus that drops off and picks up near our place to that comes from Melbourne.

We welcome you to eat with us, cook with us too if you want, or cook your own food if you don't like what we eat. We are not vegetarians but you are welcome to prepare your own. My kitchen is your kitchen, so long as you help wash up!

Your accommodation would be a spare room in our home. We hate the cold so in winter you will be snug as a bug as we have a wood fire. In summer we use an air-conditioner as we like to be comfortable. There is / are single beds with new mattresses and pillows and the room is private. Our house is small but very happy and friendly with stupidity often lurking.

We have 2 milking cows which are milked twice daily but we don't ask you to help with this. Though the mornings are our busiest time, we might wake you staggering to the coffee pot or loading wood into the fire, but will try to be quiet. You are most welcome to join us for the morning's milking and animal feeding but certainly do not expect it!

As well as the cows we have calves, pigs, piglets, turkeys, ducks, chooks and 4 dogs. If you don't like dogs, our place may not be a good fit as they are considered as our 4 "extra" children. Some of them are inside dogs, others only come in at night and early morning until they are peeled off the couches or from the kids beds and sent protesting outside for the day.

Up coming projects this year which we do as a family, all hands on deck are:
*Finishing our wash shed (milking and animal butchering)
* creating more vegetable gardens
* concreting a slab for a wash bay / basketball court / skate boarding / rollerblading
* fixing up inside of existing greenhouse - replacing existing garden beds for different better styled ones
* planting fruit trees, berries, grapes and flowering plants for bees
* making cheese when both cows are milking
* building mobile rabbit cages
* building mobile chook tractors and another mobile pig pen
* building duck house and enclosure
* wood splitting (machine done ), stacks fire wood

Other jobs unsupervised on rainy days would be some small house cleaning, cobwebbing as we are starting to look like the Adams family house!, window cleaning, listening to a child practice reading aloud, food preserving, painting of window trim(depending on weather and temperature)...basically all those niggly jobs that are mounting up!

We would prefer an initial stay commitment of 2 weeks and longer would be determined after you arrive! We might drive you nuts and want to head for the hills so let's see how we fit.

Please email us with details about you, what skills you have, (bull rangling always appreciated), and any questions you may have.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use