help exchange   Host 58088
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 58088
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 4, 2018

Hi, my name is Jeroen. I own a small property on the hills aboveNelson, with beautiful views of the mountains and haven, and 15 minutes walk to the city centre or 30 mins tothe beach. I am working on terracing the land, plantingfruit trees, berry bushes, herbs, vegetable and native trees. I'm aiming to create a sustainable permaculture way of life close to the city. It's still early days and there is lots to do.

The house has all day sun, and a deck and outdoor seating.Thegarden is being developed. Three of us live here, myself katy and Maeve. We're in our 20's and 30's, friendly, and open minded,love the outdoors, meeting people from different countries, sharing music, good healthyfoodand the odd beer or wine. I work full time in environmenta conservation , and enjoy hiking, mountain biking, surfing, guitar, rock climbing and swimming on our time off. You're welcome to join us on your time off if it works out! We also have a very snuggly cat.

Help is needed in landscaping and weeding in the garden, concreting and helping with some housework and cooking.The landscaping can be quite physical, digging and shifting dirt, compostand gravel. If you have particular skills in building or engineering this would be really helpful too. There might be more time spent some days on a project and other days less time (especially Christmas and new years). There is the opportunity to plan for full days off so you can explore the region. I'm looking for 1-2 people now. 2 hours of enthusiastic energy, plus tidying up after yourself in exchange for accommodation.You would need to organise your own food, but I'm happy to take you supermarket shopping if you don't have a car. We might be able to do a food option. You would be staying in your own room in the house, with queen bed, drawersand wardrobe.

There is a bus service to town or the beach (3 times per day),a landline for local calls or phone cards, high speed wifi, and a washing machine. Also a kayak and surf board.

Please bring your own practical outdoor shoes or boots (gumboots ideal) and suitable clothes for outdoor work. We look forward to meeting you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use