help exchange   Host 58354
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Rothiemay
All Year: SPRING/ SUMMER/ AUTUMN
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58354
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 13, 2017

We moved here in the Summer of 2014. At that time it was 15 acres of bare land used for traditional agricultural purposes. The smallholding is a predominantly gentle North facing slope in a secluded valley with it's own unusual micro climate.

Since then we have planted over 1200 trees, started developing a vegetable garden and built various buildings including the small cabin that we now live in.

We are entirely OFF GRID. Our loo is a composting one, we have electricity from solar panels and water is from our burn on the land. We do have a hot shower which feels like luxury after working outside!

We have got a basic infrastructure in place, but we have so many things we are working on, from a new tree bog, to fencing, to development of swales and ponds as well as gardening and livestock management. We will try and provide a variety of jobs so you don't get bored, and to give you an idea of what off-grid smallholding life really entails.

We would expect you to work approximately 5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week. In return we will supply you with accomodation, hot showers, towels and bedding as well as all your meals and snacks. At the weekend I am happy to run you to the coast if you would like to spend the day there, or we can provide you with a packed lunch and you can explore the area for yourself, either on foot or by borrowing one of our bikes. We are lucky to be situated in some very beautiful scenery, only a five minute walk from the River Deveron, and surrounded by several hundred acres of woodland.

Accomodation is a static caravan. There is a double bed and two smaller single beds. There is also a gas hob and grill where you can make yourself a brew and chill out in the living area.

We will provide all your bedding, as well plenty of extra blankets and hot water bottles if required. There is a small gas heater should it be required. However we ask that this is used responsibly and always turned off at night time. The static is fitted with carbon monoxide detectors just in case!

We are happy to take volunteers with a child. However, they need to be made aware that this is a working farm with machinery and livestock.

The livestock consists of ducks, chickens and geese, a flock of sheep and two naughty shetland ponies, as well as an assortment of cats and dogs.

Because we have children and need to get them to bed at reasonable times, we would ask that for three or four nights that Helpers vacate the main cabin and return to their accomodation by 9pm. At Friday through to Monday we would be more entertaining and stay up later!!

I am happy to cook for vegetarians, but please be aware that some family members do EAT MEAT and so there will be meat dishes.

We are a friendly bunch, and would be happy to involve you in local social events. There is a regular folk music night, a hand crafts evening in a local bookstore and regular meet ups with other off gridders in the area. Helpers are welcome to join in with these as much or as little as they like.

We are situated 20 minutes from the coast, and 20 minutes from the nearest town with Supermarkets, rail and bus links. There is no bus service direct to the holding, but we are happy to collect people from the station.

If there is anything you would like to know, please get in touch.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use