help exchange   Host 58431
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: from March until December
Area (ha): almost 1
Persons: maximum two
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58431
Country: Hungary

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 16, 2017

((( Dear humanoids! I start to host again next year from March when nature starts to get alive again. Until than have beautiful days everyone! )))


My name is Krisztian. I am 27 years old and I am obsessed with nature, gardening, alternative ways of living, arts, specially music ( creating and listening as well... all kinds, from electronic through piano music to bird singing ). The last few years I spent mostly with traveling around Europe. While this journey I got involved in lots of permaculture, biological gardening projects and made some really good friends :) I learned a lot not only about gardening but also about nature, people, music and also about myself. After this long travel I realized that I would love to settle down and start something I don't have to leave behind and could call it a home, so I started to look for the perfect place for a few months. I wanted to be as close to nature as possible and now here I am: found my place on the vinery area of the little village called Bazsi. In the beginning of April I moved in so everything is very basic yet but it's a perfect opportunity to see and experience how to create something nice at a beautiful place like this.

The place is on a hill and it's totally melted together with the huge forests behind. Ideal for lovers of nature. There are two lands, both of them with a small house. The size of the lands together is almost a hectare so it's quite big. Half of it is a field with old fruit and nut trees and the other half is a forest with all kinds of plants like fruit trees, oak, acacia, pine, blackberry, nut trees and lots of plants which I don't know yet... The fruit and nut trees are: apple, peach, plum, pear, cherry, chestnut, hazelnut, walnut. But the place needs more observation to identify more and more plants.

There are also lots of animals, seeing squirrels running around on the branches of trees is a normal, almost everyday thing. The bird music goes on all day long and at night after the last songs of the birds the bats take over and fly around quietly. While walking to the back of the garden you can see messy clear spots without grass, hm a boar was digging here looking for food... The dear deer also visits the garden sometimes and if you go down to ground level to check out what's there, if you have luck you can spot spiders with crazy patterns and colors, and of course more crazy creatures :)

The people around (the ones I know so far) are also really nice, doing similar things. Trying to be self-sufficient as much as possible, or keeping goats, making cheese. There is also a couple who also host volunteers, their garden is also great :)

At a festival I did also a bit of land art stuff, I would like to continue this but now in my garden! I already have an idea and I guess I will have more but I'm also open to other ideas of course! Being creative here is more than allowed :)


I would prefer long-term helpers with experience, skills. A lot of people write and only 10% comes at the end so if you are not serious about your stay or you only want to come for a few days to help than please don't write. Except if you are living nearby and you want to have good connections around, or you have similar plans for the future and would like to see how it works in this area.

The work is calm and relaxed, I'm not a "clock-watcher", actually I rarely know the time, day and date :D Sometimes I work a lot but I don't expect that from you and sometimes I don't feel it, than I do something else or go somewhere.

In gardening right now I am really interested in the idea of a forest garden and of course permaculture stuff, but the garden will be quite experimental. Even if I know lots of things and have experience I am also learning and trying things out.

The main things for the garden would be: balance, beauty, plants which support each other and work together. There are lot of fruit trees in the forest which need a lot of care like clearing the space around them and put mulch around. I would also like to create a small vegetable garden. Plant spices and herbs. Pick herbs and edible plants. Cut the grass on the field ( it's a huge area ) and use it as mulch or compost. I would also like to do some experiments with growing edible mushrooms. In summer lot of fruit picking (and eating... ). Later picking lots of different nuts.

The two houses also need renovation (but the garden is more important right now). But to name it: plaster the wall and change the ceiling.

I am also interested in building a walipini for growing vegetables in winter but this still needs some more research.

I bake my own bread and sometimes pizza so you can also help with that if you want. If you don't know how, I can teach you.


Any good ideas are welcome!


There is a house with beds, mattresses where you can sleep. Or if you prefer the forest with a tent that's also possible but watch out because sometimes boars also visit the garden. Don't be bored ( boared... ) in the forest :D

Conditions are a bit basic yet, which means for example: shower is in a bathtub with buckets of warm water and toilet is outside, a compost toilet. With volunteers we built an outside shower as well which is quite refreshing in summer :) I don't have a washing machine so washing clothes is only possible with hands. There is internet even if it's a bit slow, it's good for checking mails. Washing clothes or having a shower might be slower than usual.

My budget is limited so the food costs could be in a shared way and we cook together. I eat vegetarian but if you have a different diet that's no problem, we will figure out everything.

Hours are flexible, we just need to talk about it and we figure this out as well :) But 3-4 hours a day would be great and two days off.


On your day off do whatever you want. Nature is amazing around here, the area is perfect for hiking. There are three castles very close and on the hill a Buddhist Stupa with a meditation hall only one hour away by foot. The lake Balaton is only 25-30km away, it's easily reachable by bus or hitchhiking. There are also very nice markets close by! One of them is a kind of messy, trashy gypsy market with all kinds of things. Another one is very mixed, there are creative things, bakery stuff, organic food, soap, antique stuff etc.

There are instruments as well if you want to play: kalimba, guitar, didgeridoo, mouth harp and I'm working now on a drum from volcanic stones which are lying around the house :) ( in this area there were active volcanoes a veryveryvery long time ago ).


You get involved in the very start of a project and you can experience a more quiet life closer to nature without the noise of the outside world, reconnect with nature. You can learn about gardening. I can show you edible wild plants and we can find and identify new ones as well. If you are into music, arts and we are on a similar wavelength we can create music, and/or instruments. You can learn how to bake bread, pizza, cakes. I have also a lot of knowledge about and experience with dreams, also lucid dreams so I can also give tips in that if you are interested.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use