help exchange   Host 58696
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


MELROSE
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58696
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2017

We are a family of 5, have three children, two sons, Dylan aged 19 (Dylan is currently living & working on a prawn farm in Queensland, he is also studying a certificate 3 in fitness/personal training), aged 16 (Zach is currently studying year 11, working for the local mountain bike store "Over The Edge" as a bike mechanic & store assistant) & 9 year old girl (Kiera is a happy, caring little girl who loves music, nurturing smaller children, art & animals, she is in year 4 in primary school).

We are primarily sheep farmers but run another business to supply tyres to most vehicles, vehicle batteries & other supplies. Sean also works in engineering & manufacturing here, building custom designed trailers, farm equipment & repair work on mostly everything.

We shear our sheep once a year, mostly around the last couple of weeks of August into early September, this lasts around two weeks to shear all our sheep.

We cook multi cultural foods, as we enjoy some Indian, Thai, Chinese, Japan, Italian & Australian cuisines, we always endevour to grow our own & source locally organic produce for our cooking. When we have spare time we are also experimenting with new ways or preparing raw foods, making & fermentating of vegetables, Kefir water, fermented ginger & turmeric beer, vegan nut cheese, dehydrating vegetables & fruit, making of raw seed crackers etc, we are always looking at ways to better our health & bodies.

We enjoy when we can to show people around our farm & places we have in our hills property/4WD access only, one being a very old 1867 stone hut that is a famous stop for a lot of tourists, many camp inside with one bedroom & the other room being a cooking area with large open fire place. We keep up to 30 free range chickens, 3 working dogs for moving sheep & a horse as pets, we care for our pets & animals very well, as we are fond of them all.

Our home is a 1920's modernized stone farm house with built on extensions, one shared family large bathroom, shower recess & rooms are quite large & comfortable. Have a built on side room for singles, own door access from outside & refrigerated air-conditioning in this room, computer & room next to bedroom is small weights gym. Having comfort of free unlimited WiFi, pay TV, 3D 55" TV with sound system, own room (sometimes may be in family/TV room), use of computers & internet at your leisure. Ducted air conditioning & fans in summer & combustion fire in lounge/Family TV room. Open fire areas outside during seasons without fire restrictions & opportunities to cook outside, Australian BBQ & camp oven cooking.


Singles or couples that can be varied in their skills, as primarily we own a sheep farm that requires in dry seasons, for sheep to be fed, it would be beneficial but not necessary, for someone to be able to drive a utility vehicle & tow a large trailer with hay to stock, check on health of sheep daily on a quad bike & may require, also seasonal, to help with moving of sheep. We also run a vehicle tyre supplying business, changing & repairing of tyres on standard to heavy vehicles, if you have any experience this would be great but not a requirement. Most requirements are just general tiding of property, moving & chopping up of fallen trees, collection of fire wood, weeding, small building & maintenance repairs, raking & stacking of wood etc. As we also have a large garden area, it would be good to have someone gardening & helping to prepare soil for planting, we are also needing help with designing & building our own greenhouse from recycled materials, general tiding of area around house, sweeping, watering plants, removal of leaf & dirt litter. Dishes & dusting within the house & some folding or ironing of clothes etc. Feeding, cleaning housing & general looking after domestic animals is a great help (Dogs, chickens & horse). Our 9 year old girl Kiera, sometimes needs help with school home work, reading & maths mainly, or just to entertain her with some art or outdoor activities within good weather.


During our shearing time (busiest time of year for us) in late August to early September when we are shearing our sheep, help would be enormously appreciated in the kitchen, helping prepare foods, taking morning & afternoon tea down to shearing shed & washing of dishes. Other jobs during this time may be to help in the shearing shed, moving sheep, branding & helping with wool processing.

Our home has 3 resident bedrooms, shared helper & family large bathroom & shower recess, can provide towels, soap, shampoo & conditioner for bathing, our rooms are quite large & comfortable,. Have a built on/extension side room for singles (visitors bedroom 4), linen provided, own personal door access from outside to this room, computer available & room next to bedroom is a small weights gym for helpers to use at their leisure for fitness. This small individual room can have another mattress made up on the floor if required for additional person/couples in this room.

We have a lot commercial gym equipment outside under the house porch also if you wish to use, free unlimited WiFi, pay TV, 3D 55" TV in family room, main house bedroom room (in family TV room with comfortable quality queen size inflatable bed including linen), use of computers, internet & large 3D/DVD movie selection at your leisure. Ducted air conditioning in summer & combustion fire in lounge/TV room & portable oil heaters for other rooms in winter. Open fire areas outside during seasons without fire restrictions & opportunities to cook outside, BBQ & camp oven cooking. During the winter months we have our own running water private serene creeks & dams to explore with views that are simply stunning. We have a large country & native garden with large lawn area, trampoline & have multiple outdoor comfort & relaxation areas, including portable hammocks & designated open fire areas. We can provide a large stand up tent if wanting to enjoy more outdoor accommodation near open fires during winter, and have double & single swags we can provide with electricity to tent within relative distance to house if needed.

Within agreement & availability,we can provide free mobile phone use within Australia, Bluetooth portable speakers & music, if you would like music while helping & in leisure times. You have the availability to wash your own clothes & linen if you want, use of family kitchen & available ingredients to cook your own meals if & when desired in times available outside resident/family times, or your more than welcome to dine with our family, also tea & coffee making area in kitchen at your leisure. We try to accommodate in every way we can, we are explorative with food choices & happy to share with you what you eat or what we eat. If you have a special dietary requirement, please share with us on your arrival or preferably before, so we can make arrangement to acquire the ingredients you need before your visit.

As we are a small town & live remotely, we do have to travel nearly an hour to get our main supplies for food, if we arrange with you prior, to have to pick you up from one of these areas (Pt Augusta or Pt Pirie) we will try to take you to do some shopping before we return home. Otherwise, if possible, we can arrange a special trip to take you to pick up some food that serves your dietary requirements. It is all about making you feel at home & comfortable.

Looking forward to meeting you & having you join our family for a time.

We ask for 4-5 hrs of work a day, in return for food and accommodation. If you have a vehicle, caravan or camper trailer, we are very happy to also help or supply you with your vehicles tyres, battery, or repairs (Outside of our business commitments) in exchange for any extra help you can give us outside helpx food & accommodation agreements.

PLEASE BE AWARE:(as advised by Australian Border Force Security)
THAT YOUR STAY WITH US REQUIRES YOU TO HAVE A "WORKING HOLIDAY MAKER VISA 417".
https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/417-

Our town Melrose is mountain bike central area, with approx 100km of single track trails in the foothills of Mount Remarkable and nearby. There are plenty of opportunities for hiking, photographers to get great shots & to get out and enjoy the fresh air at Melrose.

Explore the town by foot or bike, as both the Heysen and Mawson walking trails pass through town. We have a historical museum to explore, local wineries & cellar door purchases, great dining places & very friendly people that will make you feel at home.

Things to do in Melrose: Picnic at the stunning Paradise Square Gardens, Dine at one of our two unique hotels or coffee shops (Store54: EXCELLENT COFFEE), tackle the Bridle Track on a 4WD adventure, Visit local wineries, Experience mountain biking adventures, Admire the morning & evening views from the monument lookout, Explore the history of the area including the Melrose Heritage Museum, Enjoy the many festivals & events throughout the year & Get into local orienteering & geocaching challenges.

More about our town in link following.
http://www.melrose-mtremarkable.org.au/

http://southaustralia.com/places-to-go/south-australia/climate


Average daily winter temperatures (June - August), Max 15.9C, Min 2C.
Average daily spring temperatures (September - November), Max 34.5C, Min 10.5C.
Average daily summer temperatures (December - February), Max 40.3C, Min 21.5C, but daily temperatures can get as high as 49C.
Average daily autumn temperatures (March - May), Max 29.3C, Min 13.5C.
PLEASE NOTE: SUMMER MONTHS are very dry, dusty & extremely hot.. We try to do our main work early in the mornings on day break & late in the evenings before dark during this time. Weather is extreme & hard to do anything outside.



Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use