help exchange   Host 58946
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bridgetown
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 60
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58946
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 16, 2017

Our home was constructed in 1865 and now has extensive gardens, runs cattle and sheep and is 15 minutes from Bridgetown. The gardens have many very old English trees (oaks, elms) and in winter there is a series of ponds and waterfalls. We have a small vineyard and make wine each year for family and friends. In the mornings many small birds can be seen in the garden. On our lake we normally have geese, ducks and black swans. Around the homestead there are often lots of kangaroos and emus

We have a separate small 100 sq metre new apartment that is often vacant. It is furnished with all facilities and located about 100 metres from the main homestead. You would stay in the apartment.

We would like to have either singles or a couple for short (2-3 weeks) or long term 3-6 months) stays.

You would be expected to work 15 hrs per week in the gardens, around the house and with animals (feeding etc) in exchange for accommodation. No food.

WIfi is available and you would need your own transport

Bridgetown is a great country town with cafe's, a variety of small interesting shops. We have lots of artists and musicians in the area there is a great tennis club, library, swimming pool and lawn bowls. These are opportunities for casual work around the area.

The apartment is available from mid May 2017.

See below a youtube video taken a few years ago (2013) when we had a short thunderstorm.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use