help exchange   Host 58958
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Quyon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: many
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58958
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 23, 2017

Homesteading.
Former world travellers - Our family is settling onto a beautiful piece of land. 18 acres, a barn, animals, creative open farmhouse, nestled by a river, and 45 mins. close to Ottawa Canada. Zion's (age 16) enjoys Natural Horsemanship and the idea of becoming a vet. Eamon's (age 10) passion is his Chickens, Chicks, and Eggs (not sure which came first). Elmir is pretty smitten with Vilma our milking Jersey cow and Brandie, she loves it all. Soul bursting space.

Eventually this space will be used for gatherings of all sizes. What will bring people here?Argicultural education by living an oldschool farm life experience, the best stargazing, art classes, barn dances, prenatal eduacation, nature / farm schools, the gourmet food

Jobs on the to do list to pick from:
-Fencing
-Organic garden
-Build extra chicken coop + run
-Food preservation
-Cheese making
-Re-build base of barn in traditional cedar cord wood style
-Making a bathroom for the guest farmstay apartment
-Animal care
-Bread baking and building outdoor oven
-Nature/farm school curriculum and facilitation
-Campsite designs
-Art on the property
-Horse groundwork and natural training
-Deck construction
-Bee keeping
-Establishing a mushroom garden in the forest
... Just let us know what you would like to contribute while you are here :)


We love to host. Our experiences run deep from our travels and our guests can expect to be made part of the family (and extended family). We will show both the city tourist sites of Ottawa and the country living of Rural Canada life. Both of our boys are outgoing and we all freely share what we know while being super eager to learn. Brandie and the children are bilingual French / English but mostly we speak English at home. We often have families over for great exchanges. Friday is local country market day.


Comfortable, clean, private room on a real bed in the house or camping outside - you choose.
The washroom will be shared. With a house full of foodies - meals will be fresh homemade family style collective efforts (whether inside, on the deck, or picnicking). We are adaptable to all sorts of dietary needs and frequently eat vegetarian.


Our home is just under an hour from downtown Ottawa and we like to take excursions to the city a couple times a week. At the farm, expect a slower life pace and just letting time slide while laying in a hammock, petting a donkey, kayaking the river, visiting a nearby beach on the Ottawa River.. We can visit local waterfalls, park Omega with Canadian wildlife, other farms to learn from our neighbours.. If you like, we could visit livestock auctions, a waterpark, take hikes in provincial parks (Algonquin or Gatineau).

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use