help exchange   Host 59031
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Alder Flats
All Year: may until september 2017
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59031
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2017

Howdy!
We are Susanne and Wes,a young swiss-canadian couple, living on a cattle ranch, close to a hamlet in western Alberta. The next bigger towns, where we get groceries, are about 50 mins to one hour away. Edmonton is 1.5 h drive away.

Wes is a fulltime welder and only around the ranch in the evenings and when he gets some days off. So you will mostly be dealing with Susanne :-) Wes's father is around too, he is the acctual owner of the ranch.

At the moment there are about 150 cows, 100 calves and some bulls on the pasture. We also have horses, chicken,some cats and a dog running around.
In summer,there is a lot that needs to be done on the fields, which means time in the tractor. Also gardening, house chores, more house chores :), looking after the small animals, work with horses,fencing, cleaning and tiding up the yard are some of the chores.

We expect you to join in fully instead of some hours of work set a day. This is because we never really know whats gonna happen or what needs to be done.( like, who knows if the cows get out and have to be gathered again? or if it rains and hay needs to be taken inside?) Days can be long. They can be relaxed though too. We want you to experience the 'real life' here.=) on the other hand we can garantee you to get lots from our side as well - a nice private room, wifi, healthy fresh food, horses to ride, beautiful landscape to see,.. and if we go to a rodeo or family gathering or kanuetrip or whatever - you are of course invited too! And we take care of you and keep you happy. =)

Just recently we started our little trail ride business. Every weekend we (means mostly Susanne as Wes is working) will be busy with the horses - grooming, saddling, cleaning coralls, feeding,... and then meet the tourists, set everything up for them and go for rides with them. The beautiful trails lead us over meadows, fields, through the bush and the creek. There is also wagon rides and pony rieds avaiable. Lots to do as you see and therefore we would be very glad to get a helping hand for the summer!


Even though we are busy, there will still be enough fun time.=) We will go horseriding, possibly go for a canoe ride on the creek, maybe drive to a lake to cool off after a hard working day, spend time with the animals or hang out at the campfire in the evening, listening to the howling coyotes.

If you are experienced with horses, don't mind driving the tractor for sometimes long hours, open minded, having a good work attitude and don't mind if sometimes plans change as quickly as the weather in Alberta, than you most definitely should come to our ranch!

We prefer if you would stay at least one month.

We are new to this program but excited to try it out and get to know people from all over the world.
See ya!
Susanne & Wes

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use