help exchange   Host 59596
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Granville Harbour
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59596
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 18, 2017

A warm and friendly welcome awaits your arrival here on this wild and rugged west coast of Tasmania.
Hello. My name is Janelle. A 50 year single woman with a deep appreciation for life and people. I've lived here for 9 years, establishing a permaculture property on 1/2 acre. The front gate opens to the ocean, the back gate to the rain forest. It can get wickedly windy and wild as it's right in the path of the 'Roaring Forties'. Although it's a windy time, spring is simply breathtaking with huge storm surges battering the coastline. You will feel its energy and power under your feet.
There's a lot of little projects on the go and regular tasks that cater for a wide range of skilled or unskilled people. Some of the projects include: building and construction of raised wicker beds, shade house, chicken coop, paving, cob oven, fences, ponds and water features, outdoor kitchen, outdoor bath house, stone garden walls, paving, garden art, new berry beds, tiling, bathroom renovations, bookshelves and restoring a Celery Top Pine boat. If you think you have the skills or interest in working on any of these projects your contribution would be gratefully appreciated.
Regular unskilled tasks include gardening, lawn mowing, pruning, brush cutting, wood collection, painting, attending to the animals (chickens, geese and dogs), general basic maintenance and some households duties if needed.
You will have your own private bedroom with double bed, so it suits those travelling alone or with a partner, sharing the rest of the home together with me.
There's a chance to learn how to make cultured butter, yogurt, fermented milk, kombucha, sauerkraut, kimchi, bacon and other fermented foods. I am qualified in Permaculture Design and for people interested in Permaculture and organic gardening on a small scale operation it's a good opportunity to see in practice, discuss ideas, gain knowledge and share the practical experience.
Life here is about living by the ocean. You can expect to be involved in harvesting food and resources including collecting seaweed for the kitchen and garden, fishing, snorkelling for lobster and abalone, shell grit for the chooks, according to your level of interest or experience with water.
I have experience teaching English and patient with helping others learn the language.
With 20 years in the tourism industry primarily as an owner of a large backpacker hostel and guided walking tours, I can share loads of travel tips and advice about Tasmania.
I'm interested in meeting people from all nationalities and getting to know you would be a pleasure. Artists, creative types, adventurers, musicians, tradespeople, educated, non-educated, skilled or unskilled, young or old - there's so much to learn from each other.

So, what will I expect of you?
1. Four hours per day of your time and energy.
2. Min 1 week stay.
3. Clear and open communication if you are not happy with anything.

What can you expect of me?
1. Accommodation and all meals.
2. Internet access
3. Clear and open communication if I am not happy with anything.
4. Flexibility. Weather dictates many outdoor projects and tasks need to be re-assigned to inside jobs. You may chose to work 28 hours in 3 or 4 days and have a few off to explore or chill out.

LOCATION is remote. There are no shops or services. The nearest town, Zeehan is 35 km away with a small supermarket, bottle shop, Post Office, ATM, hardwear, library, doctor and pharmacy.
No PHONE SERVICE, but I do have Satellite NBN INTERNET for you. The best form of communication with me is via email.
I can pick up and drop off from Zeehan for those without a vehicle. If you're having trouble finding transport to Zeehan, let me know and I'll try and help.

Don't feel that you'll be stuck way out here all the time, as we'll go on lots of adventures and have a good look around.

You will not be expected to undertake work that you don't feel comfortable or skilled about doing. There are no pressures here.

Even a brief visit will restore a weary soul!
Apart from the work and social/cultural side to your visit, my home offers you time and space to just be you.
See you soon :)

I can't do any visa extensions sorry.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use