help exchange   Host 59715
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bidford On Avon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59715
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2017

About me: I'm a retired engineer living on a small farm near to Stratford on Avon. I have one large dog. I enjoy travelling, taking things apart but not putting them back together, walking the dog, going to car boot sales, hanging out with the grandkids and having a good chat. The farm is 37 acres which includes an apple orchard and a couple of outbuildings but is mostly quite overgrown. I'm building a large extension which will become a separate house. The house has four bedrooms, two bathrooms and a big sunny garden for BBQs.

The job: Various tasks to help with building the extension, for example ground levelling, painting, earth removal etc. Some of the work will involve heavy lifting because this is what I'm not so capable of any more. There is also ongoing garden work to be done. Plus farm work when in season - fruit picking etc.

What I'd like from you: 3 hours of work per day. I'll go through what needs to be done and I will be around most of the time if you have questions.
I would prefer you to stay for a week or more but this is negotiable.
Who I'm looking for: friendly, trustworthy people with any experience of manual labour or gardening. You need to be fit and not mind getting your hands dirty! If you have any other useful skills please let me know.
Own transport is preferred as the farm is not on great public transport links.

What you'll get from me:
a private double room and sole use of the main bathroom (although bathroom may be shared if I have other guests)
shared use of the rest of the house including kitchen, BBQ, laundry,TV, books
free WiFi (within reason!)
1 cooked meal per day. Please note I can accommodate vegetarian but if you have any other dietary restrictions you will need to help out as my cooking repertoire isn't that broad!

When you contact me, please tell me the following things: dates you would like to stay for, how you will be arriving (car, bus etc), any experience you have and whether you have any dietary requirements.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use