help exchange   Host 59864
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Stroud
All Year: no
Area (ha): 1/4
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59864
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2017

Come and join our family in one of the most beautiful parts of England, The Cotswolds, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty: http://www.cotswoldsaonb.org.uk/ You will get to live in a stunning shepherds hut, complete with a real wood stove and double bed, set in a private corner of a lovely garden. We only have space for one person, but we will provide accommodation and evening meals.

We are a lively and creative family of four, plus two really well-behaved dogs!! Piers is a Director of Photography on films and television, Alice works with photographers and is a fine artist with her own studio at home. Blake is 14 and loves mountain-biking, football (often with Dad) and being in nature. Merce is 11 and loves horses, riding and reading books (a lot of books!!). The dogs: Jasper is a large 6-year-old lurcher, who is extremely happy lying around; Foxy is a 4-year-old kelpie cross who loves cuddles and being active.

Alice and Piers both speak fluent French, Alice speaks Portugese and some Spanish, but both children are learning Spanish at school so we love having visitors who can practise languages with us. We have a large garden and an allotment, so need someone who loves gardening. We also take a lot of care about the food we eat and the meals we prepare, so need someone who loves food and cooking.

Our home is near Stroud, which is only 90 minutes from London by train. Bath and Bristol are also very close. There is lots to do near us if you love nature and being outdoors. There are amazing trails for running and lots of great mountain-biking, plus the area is very famous for horses and riding. There is also a thriving art scene in Stroud, plus lots of alternative lifestyles.

As a family we love walking the dogs together, eating together plus being sporty and doing yoga! We want to meet someone who is happy to help run a busy family household and learn about this beautiful part of the world in exchange.

We need someone who can drive, preferably someone travelling around the UK in their own car, or we can provide a car and insure you on it. No smokers!

You are very welcome to come and join our family if you are happy to be part of our busy lives. We need someone who is happy to help with helping get the children to activities, cleaning, washing, ironing, cooking and gardening. It is really important that you are happy spending time with the children and that you are positive person.

We need:
Help with the allotment
Gardening
General help in the house including cleaning, washing and ironing.
General help in the household
Cooking for the family a few times a week
Language practise - the children love to learn.
If you are a carpenter, there are plenty of little projects for the allotment or around the house

It will involve 4-5 hours a day, maximum of 25 hours per week but we will all need to be flexible as Piers and Alice don't have regular work hours. To help make it a little easier we will structure a schedule around the children's activities, but we need someone who doesn't mind if things change a little as we go along.

Accommodation:
You will live in a beautiful Shepherds Hut in a corner of the garden. It is away from the house, so you will have privacy. It has electricity, high-speed internet (35 Mbps), a small wood-burning stove and a double-bed which can be put away to make a sofa.

Next to the Shepherds Hut is a small camp kitchen, with electricity and water. There is also a small, stone barbecue. However, you will have use of a shower and toilet in a separate studio building. We have a fire, hammocks, a swing and a slack-line near the Shepherds Hut and in the Summer it is a beautiful place to hang-out and relax.

During the day we will all make our own arrangements for food. In the evening we try to eat as a family and you can join us if you want, or you can eat privately, but we will only cook one evening meal in the house. On weekends, we will be more flexible, but you will be expected to cook a number of meals and help with preparing and tidying up meals.

What you will experience:
We are a very open, loving and positive family who love learning about other people and cultures. We live in a very beautiful area that is full of alternative-thinking people. Our children go to a school outside the standard education system and we are very critical, independent-thinking people. We think anyone coming to live with us would get to learn a lot about art, beautiful places, beautiful things and nature.

We think you would benefit from understanding a side of the UK that is very different from the one projected to the world. We would encourage someone to become involved in the local community, where there are many people from places outside the UK. Near us there are many interesting organisations working in education, special needs and art.

Local information:
Our local station is Stroud: the train to Paddington takes 90 minutes. Bristol and Bath are 45 minutes by car.

http://www.cotswolds.com/plan-your-trip/towns-and-villages/stroud-p670813

Non-smokers only.



Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use