Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 60127
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Retford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60127
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 10, 2018

We bought a derelict smallholding not so long ago and moved in with all of our animals. We have a challenge doing it up at the same time as working and looking after the animals. We would love to welcome either a single person or a couple who would help us tick a few jobs off the long list of things to do and get this place looking and working well again.
There are a variety of activities from animal care to restoring an organic vegetable patch, through to some outbuilding maintenance. The jobs will be as varied as the animals we keep.
We have alpacas, chickens, ducks, rabbits, cats, dogs, peafowl and a horse.
We have cria due this summer, so there will also be plenty of opportunity to help out with alpaca births and mating.

The accommodation is somewhat rustic, but that is only because we haven't yet finished restoring the bungalow. You will be given an upstairs room and will share our downstairs shower room. We currently sleep in the living room. Upstairs is all barebones, but you'll have the whole floor to yourself. It's spacious and bright and you can use our wifi.

We are in a very quiet village, but only 30 minutes from Lincoln, an hour from Sheffield, York, Nottingham, Leicester.

I am half French, so speak - relatively - fluently, once my brain gets back into 'French' gear.

We will provide meals to anyone who stays with us; breakfast is a help-yourself affair; lunch is a snacking meal (either sandwiches or pasta) and evenings are a full, cooked meal. We'd just ask that any sweets, alcohol, pop, or other luxuries be bought by yourself.

We are currently looking for HelpX who could stay with us for at least a month as we feel that would be much nicer for everyone. We like our guests to feel at home, and a longer stay also gives us the opportunity to take our visitor exploring a bit more. Please get in touch even if you can't stay for that long, and we'll see how we're set with space.
The sort of jobs we need help with require someone who is confident at a bit of DIY, wouldn't mind doing some gardening (digging overgrown ground for building raised beds), and who would be happy to help out with animal care. The jobs are varied; if the weather is bad, there are things to do in the house, such as continue insulating the rafters, build a coat and shoe cupboard, and other DIY like that. On nice days, we much prefer to be outside. There is always lots to do! Last summer, we wanted to reroof a section of the barn and ended up completely rebuilding that part. It was a great achievement and fantastic teamwork. So as long as you are willing and able, you will never get bored.

If any of that sounds good to you, get in touch. I look forward to hearing from you.

We have space from the beginning of July onwards.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use