help exchange   Host 60689
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Mission Beach
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 or 2 (Couple)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 60689
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2017

Welcome to Mission Beach a quiet tranquil place where the rainforest meets the reef.

Our property is a couple hundred meters (short walk) from a quiet beautiful beach called Wongaling Beach. 1.5km to Woolworths (food shop). 1km from water taxi which can take you to Dunk Island (10 min boat ride) or the great barrier reef (40 min boat ride on a calm day).

Our block of land is 3500m2 which we have been in for just over a year. Our goal is to become a zero waste, sustainable, organic producing property, using permaculture design concepts and local tropical forest foods.

Numerous native animals visit or roam by our property including wallabys, goannas, cassawarys, frogs, lizards, kookaburras, butterflies, and many more. We often just watch them from our back veranda or in front yard as show in photo with a dragonfruit in the foreground.

We are only in the very early stages of our permaculture research and concept design, still learning ourselves but are so excited about what this land could become for us and the community.

Currently planted we have papaya, choco, mango, pumkin, dragon fruit, sweet potato, tomatoes, lemon grass, tumeric, quondong, bananas, herbs and greens. But we want to expand and diversify having a lot more native and create a tropical ecosystem, with eventually less work and higher yield.

Our home is two story building with a self contained unit downstairs with own shower, toilet, laundry, kitchenette (stove, fridge, microwave, sink, kitchen appliances) plus a back little patio with a fish pond where helpers will stay. It has a ceiling fan and a/c for summer months.

We are a small family husband, wife and a young child and ask that helpers buy and prepare their own food as we often struggle to get our family organised and fed somedays.

The property has a pool to cool off in during the summer months when the stingers pass through the ocean.

Please for your, our, and the environments health... Strictly NO smoking on our property...... Preferably not in our community at all, but if you do please place butts in bins not the ground they wash into our ocean and harm our sea life.

2 hours of help per person per day. Hours can be accumulated so free days can be taken.

Manual labour in the yard is required. Weeding, planting, clearing vegetation, spreading mulch, building garden beds, retaining walls, heavy lifting, mowing, pruning, digging, watering, sawing.

Alternatively if manual labour is not so easy for you or your travel companion. Household duties, ie cleaning, vacuuming, mopping, hanging out washing, etc, can be exchanged.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use