help exchange   Host 60755
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Nelson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8.9
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60755
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 1, 2017

This is a 21 acre farm property between Brightwater and Richmond bordering the Wairoa river. We have a small boutique vineyard which provides plenty of work opportunity throughout the year. We raise 30-40 bobby calves in Winter/Spring and also have 30 beehives which need work now and then. We have a range of maintenance jobs including continuing work on the Woofers accommodation. We also plant, weed and maintain native seedlings around the boundary of the property. The main job we have is to prune and tie down 3000 grape vines each May and June. We are a working family with two young boys who need a hand with farm projects from now and then.

We use manual vineyard practices. We mulch where possible and use this in the orchard. Sheep are used to leaf pluck the grapes. We use composting bins for garden waste. We have a large open worm farm. We feed our food scraps to chickens and ducks.

We eat mainly home killed meat from cattle, sheep, chickens and ducks from the farm. We have free-range eggs. We milk a house cow daily for 2 months of the year and eat honey from our own bee hive.

We can accommodate two people at a time in a sleep out beside the main house. The accommodation is a purpose built sleep out. The unit has a mezzanine floor with a large king sized bed. All linen will be provided. There is a large screen TV, kitchen, dining table and lounge suite. It has great views of the vineyard and Mount Arthur.

We will stock the fridge and cupboards in the accommodation with food, meat, fruit and vegetables etc so you can cater for your own meals. Once or twice a week we can have dinner together. This way you have your own independence and space.

We need 4 hours help a day. Depending on the time of year the type of tasks may vary. We can discuss and arrange hours with your stay in the region.

We currently have some gardening work and possible beehive work if you want to learn.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use