help exchange   Host 61428
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 61428
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 29, 2017

We have a couple of vacancy options...From December 5 to january 10 we have a few DIY projects and general yard tidying up and gardening jobs that need doing for those of you who are not equestrians but if you are a double win all round and we would love to hear from you as long as you are a genuine animal lover. But from January if you are an equestrian we can offer a great experience to people who are capable horse riders. Are you a horse, dog, cat, chickens, sheep and gardening person? We have 2 horses that can be ridden daily by our homestay helpers: Kelly and Bree for this we need someone who has soft hands and a balanced seat on a horse. So if u love horses and have experience, want to learn natural horsemanship, ride western style, then please read on and have a chat with us. We have 4 horses so you will ride at least 2 of them but help care for all 4 and dependant on experience you may ride the big horse who is only suitable for very experienced people. We also have 2 dogs that love walks, 2 cats, chickens and sheep. We live opposite a beautiful long beach, about 20 minutes away from Dunedin. We generally ride the horses on the beach, private land and in the forestry. We have a 3 bedroom house with an inside gym with treadmill, x trainer and rowers. We have a tunnel house, gardens etc. We have sheep, chickens, horses, dogs, cats and fish. Our dogs and cats live in the house. We cannot take anyone who has a serious peanut allergy or is Vegan. If you like gardening there are lots of garden jobs and decorating/DIY type jobs you can do. We obviously expect that you tidy up as is needed, like load and unload dishwasher, hang washing on the line etc, run the vacuum around if it needs it, just normal being part of a family type roles :) I can promise that you will get a lot from the experience; as you get to ride and care for our horses as if they were your own once we have established that you are capable of riding them and safe around them, they are between 15.1hh to 17hh so not small!!. I will also give you lessons and we regularly have clinics you are able to attend to learn more in natural horsemanship from well-respected trainers. We will provide you with a riding hat that is up to the regulation standards (you are not allowed to ride without a hat on). We love having European visitors as I am also from Europe originally. If you want to truly enjoy the opportunity we can offer you need to commit to being here for a minimum of 6 weeks. We cook fresh homemade food everyday and we don't use processed food. We have had a total of 10 homestay volunteers (only 1 through HelpX but via other volunteering sites) who have lived with us from 6 weeks to 1 year. They will be happy to give you any recommendations and chat to you via WhatsApp or Facebook messenger. my facebook page is my name with the photo of the black horse as its profile picture, my posts are all public. We both work full time in Emergency Management, so you are not micromanaged by us while you are here, we like to have people with common sense and a love of animals and the countryside.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use