help exchange   Host 61437
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Dunedin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .25
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 61437
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 26, 2017

We live in a lovely coastal part of New Zealand, in the peaceful little village of Portobello on the Otago Peninsula. It’s about a 25 minute drive from central Dunedin.

We are just a few minutes from sealions basking on one of the most beautiful wild beaches, and there’s an albatross colony up the road. Penguins live around here too. This is also one of the better places in NZ for seeing the Aurora.

We are Michael (American), Sophie (Kiwi) and two very busy toddlers, Charles (3) and Astrid (1). Michael is a programmer who sometimes works from home and Sophie looks after the children.

We are interested in the good life, friends, family, food, music, crafts - there are guitars here that you are welcome to play. A mandolin too. We would love to meet anyone with mandolin skills! We also love knitting and woodworking and lots of other creative pursuits that we never have enough time for.

We have recently moved into a gorgeous new spot over the winter, however as summer approaches we desperately need help to keep on top of our beautiful, but demanding piece of land full of trees, unloved garden beds and lots of potential.

Our jobs are outside, so garden experience and generally working with your hands is a bonus but not essential. We also need help making paths and garden walls/beds, we’ve got some plans for an outdoor movie space in the trees, we also have a derelict cottage on the grounds which needs attention.

Our life with two toddlers at home is always barely contained chaos, so we would also like help preparing evening meals for the family.

In exchange for 3 hours in the garden, plus cooking a meal in the evening, we can provide your own room with a double bed and all food. Vegetarians, diversity, LGBT couples, all welcome in our home. We’re open to negotiating hours, such as working more in the weekends to have weekdays off.

You must be comfortable with sharing your space with small children, be 25+ and have your own transport. There is a limited bus service out here, but you really need your own vehicle to get around and explore.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use