help exchange   Host 6443
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Galway
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 0
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6443
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 4, 2013

***This position is now closed. Many thanks to our many helpers who made such a difference to life on the farm over the years!***

This is an old fashioned cattle farm (21 at the moment), 16 hectares of fields with no machinery, 4 chickens and a vegetable garden. The farmer, Tom, is 79 years old, has a bad leg and needs assistance to run the farm. I'm the other permanent resident and I take care of his personal needs and of the housework.

Duties are primarily farm work, so we need a generous soul willing to do the work an old man or a woman find more difficult. Somebody who is strong enough to do everything by hand, self-motivated and able to work independently.

Dealing with the cattle is the first responsability. General maintenance to be done like cutting briars and gorse, gathering and cutting firewood, fixing dry walls, gardening, drainage, repairing tools etc... Basically keeping the place tidy and running smoothly. Experience with cattle prefered. I can show you everything that needs to be done and occasionally work with you. All for about 4h/day. Sunday is off.

The accommodation is in an independent mobile home with full bedding, a stove, cooking facilities, TV & WIFI, the option of a computer with a language program (Rosetta Stone). There is also access to hot showers, a washing machine, books & DVDs, landline (to receive calls) in the house where meals are taken together; working clothes and wellies provided. There is a bicycle available and we provide pick ups and occasional lifts. Nutritious hot meals served (alcohol not included). Countryside surroundings yet close to all the facilities of Galway City (corner shop, football pitch and bus stop in the same street) and 15 min walk from the beach, a windsurf/kayak club and the nearest pub.

We've had plenty of helpers staying on this farm since summer 2006, mostly French ones through French websites. Ideally we need a man because of the physical maintenance work.

In the evening Tom likes to relax with whoever is around: watch TV, chat, play games (bingo!) or be entertained by helpers who can play music (there are a classical guitar, a bodhran and a harmonica available).

Flexible free time for studies or visits. No smoking in any building. Long term stay prefered (3 weeks to several months). Would suit foreign students as I can help with conversational English and French.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use