help exchange   Host 6454
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Saint Agnan-en-Vercors
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6454
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2018

*** 1 Person needed for MARCH-APRIL*** (Preparing the garden, DIY, help with home chores, taking care and activities with our children (9, 6, 2½ yo) while Jo and I are working (at home) …

*** 1 Person for JUNE, JULY to mid-AUGUST *** (Help for preparing the place in June and help us with daily organization in July/August during our SUMMER CAMP hosting children aged 6 to12 years old (More bellow “INFORMATIONS”)

Hello, we are Laetitia, Joachim and 3 children (9, 6, 2½ y.o.). We are renovating a former farm house in the Alps. There are last step renovating/decorating works in the house and outside work in the yard and veggie garden on going. We are looking for ONE person (with or without specific skills) for at least 3 weeks. You are handy, autonomous, children friendly, not scared of cold and ready to live as part of our family … Come and join us in the adventure!

Here you will find:
FRENCH MOTHER TONG / 3 CHILDREN / HAPPY MINDED / MOUNTAINS / MAINLY "VEGAN" and a lot of RAW FOOD (Raw fruits - Raw and cooked vegetables - Nuts - A few starches - meat/fish/eggs once in a while - No dairy)/ ASK FOR 3 WEEKS STAY MINIMUM.

Laetitia is trained in Montessori pedagogy (instruction/education), Gordon communication method (non-violent communication), as a hiking guide and presently trained to do philosophic courses with children. She’s also interested in self development and transmission of my knowledge. She also likes making her home a pretty place and using her hands to make it happen.

Jo is an artist drawer and painter, practices yoga daily and trained Gordon communication method as well.

We will open a summer camp for children aged 6 to 12 years old, in our home. Maximum of 10 children, including ours, Eylwen (9), Lorcan (6) and Diego (2½ yo).

Our native language is French and can help you in this way, I’ll be happy to correct you if you want me to. Notice that we also speak English.

We live in the mountains, at the edge of the biggest natural reserve in France (in the Alps), in a calm hamlet (760 m) where runs a small river, situated in the South East, in between Valence and Grenoble (both 1½ hour away).


In general, some renovating, repairing, creating, helping with home chores and sharing your specific skills with the children … around 25 hours a week + daily help for preparing meals and doing the dishes. Help will vary depending on your skills, your wish and our priority.

*** ON GOING ***

- Home chores
- Help with our children
- Yard and veggie garden care
- Creating a composting toilet and a composting area
- Building a stone-wall (See photo below)
- Filling with soil around the house
- Renovating the chicken house (before chickens arrive)
- Making a railing above the stairs (using drill, circular saw, sander …)
- Making shelves/cupboards (wood work as well)
- Creating meticulous Montessori materials

I like using materials that are home-made (paint, glue ...), recycled (from palets, wooden boxes ...), 2nd hand and eco-friendly.

There will be moments you'll be working on your own and others I will work with you.

You are especially welcome if you are experienced and autonomous in one or several specific skills of renovation (electricity, carpentry, building, plumbing, lime work, isolating, wood work ...)


You will live an experience in a French mother tongue family.
We can correct your french and lend you books for learning french.

I can share my interest about food, ecological building, permaculture, "education", giving birth, non-violent communication, choices of life, self-development, health...

Jo can tell you about yoga, muscle-building, health and much more.

We can also discuss about travelling, which is one of my passion. I have been a helper myself on my travels.

You will experience to live with a happy, passionate and always evoluating family of 3 children.

During the summer camp, you will fully be part of the adventure!

During your 2 days off per week, you can go trekking (walking tracks starting at the front door), fishing (river at 50 meters), snowshoeing*, sledging*, bike riding *, taking pictures of the beautiful surroundings, relaxing in the forest or by the river, reading*, learning French*, internet access* ... (* materials we can lend you)
We are away from big cities, but we do have villages around where you can go to the swimming-pool (in summer), visiting the village, weekly market, ... (6 km away – 30 minutes walking).


Meals are taken in a family atmosphere. They are composed of raw (fruits, nuts, vegetables) and cooked (vegetables, starches) food, barely with meat/eggs/seafood (about once a week) and no dairy.
You are welcome as part of the family.
Bedroom in the house or in a part of the house that isn’t finished renovating. May be tents in the summer.
No smoking indoors.


The SUMMER CAMP: Hosting in our home children aged 6 to 12 years old and doing activities. Maximum of 10 children, including ours: Eylwen (9), Lorcan (6) and Diego (2½ yo).
We need a person who’s ready to stay for the whole period of hosting children + at least 2 weeks before the summer camp starts, so from at least June 24th (earlier is better) to August 12th, 2018. Reserve this place in March-April at the latest. I will need your criminal record as soon as you confirm your stay for sure. This helper post is for someone mature, kind, dynamic, autonomous, neat worker, non-smoker, who’s comfortable with our diet and who enjoys being amongst children. When you contact us, tell us about your skills and specific experiences with children and if there are activities you could share with them in our program. We project this summer camp to be a lovely and fun adventure for children and adults taking part of it. Part of the program will be activities connecting with nature, walking in the forest, gardening, philosophy courses, yoga, painting/drawing with a professional … and eventually discovering a foreign language which will be YOURS!

IN GENERAL, apart from the summer camp.
Helpers are welcome all year round. One person at a time.

We don't have any objection that you contact us to come few days later. It is even easier to organize for us. In general, stays of 3 weeks minimum. Long term preferred.

I can help you with the buses schedules to come to our place, ask me if you need.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use