help exchange   Host 6454
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Saint Agnan-en-Vercors
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6454
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2017

*** Help needed: AND/OR
- with our children/house chores/making instructive materials for the children
- house renovation/DIY/garden ***

Hello, we are Laetitia, Joachim and 3 children (8, 5, 2 y.o.). We are renovating a former farm house in the Alps. There are last step renovating/decorating works in the house and outside work in the yard and veggie garden on going. We are looking for ONE person (with or without specific skills) for at least 3 weeks. You are handy, autonomous, children friendly, not scared of cold and ready to live as part of our family Come and join us in the adventure!

Here you will find:
FRENCH MOTHER TONG / 3 CHILDREN / HAPPY MINDED / MOUNTAINS / MAINLY "VEGAN" and a lot of RAW FOOD (Raw fruits - Raw and cooked vegetables - Nuts - A few starches - meat/fish/eggs once in a while - No dairy)/ ASK FOR 3 WEEKS STAY MINIMUM.

WHO?
I am a stay-at-home mom with 3 children: Eylwen (8) at school, Lorcan (5) homeschooled and Diego (2 yo) homeschooled. I have followed courses on Montessori pedagogy (instruction/education) and Gordon communication method (non-violent communication). Im also interested in self development and transmission of my knowledge. I also like making my home a pretty place and using my hands to make it happen.

My partner is an artist drawer and painter and practices yoga.

Our native language is French and can help you in this way, Ill be happy to correct you if you want me to. Notice that we also speak English.

WHERE?
We live in the mountains, at the edge of the biggest natural reserve in France (in the Alps), in a calm hamlet (760 m) where runs a small river, situated in the South East, in between Valence and Grenoble (both 1 hour away).

------------------
TYPE OF HELP

In general, some renovating, repairing, creating, helping with home chores and sharing your specific skills with the children around 25 hours a week + daily help for preparing meals and doing the dishes. Help will vary depending on your skills, your wish and our priority.


*** ON GOING ***

- Help with our CHILDREN and home chores.
- Building a stone-wall (See photo below)
- Filling with soil around the house
- Renovating the chicken house (before chickens arrive)
- Making a railing above the stairs (using drill, circular saw, sander )
- Making shelves/cupboards (wood work as well)
- Yard and veggie garden care
- Creating a composting toilet and a composting area
- Creating meticulous Montessori materials


I like using materials that are home-made (paint, glue ...), recycled (from palets, wooden boxes ...), 2nd hand and eco-friendly.

I will work with you part of the time, as often as I can. There will therefore be moments you'll be working on your own.

You are especially welcome if you are experienced and autonomous in one or several specific skills of renovation (electricity, carpentry, building, plumbing, lime work, isolating, wood work ...)

------------------
BENEFITS FOR THE HELPER

You will live an experience in a French mother tongue family.
We can correct your french and lend you books for learning french.

I can share my interest about food, ecological building, permaculture, "education", giving birth, non-violent communication, choices of life, self-development, health...

Jo can tell you about yoga, muscle-building, health and much more.

We can also discuss about travelling, which is one of my passion. I have been a helper myself on my travels.

You will experience to live with a happy, passionate and always evoluating family of 3 children.

You will get an experience on building a stone wall !!!
You will get an experience on making Montessori materials !!!

------------------
FREE TIME:

During your 2 days off per week, you can go trekking (walking tracks starting at the front door), fishing (river at 50 meters), snowshoeing*, sledging*, bike riding *, taking pictures of the beautiful surroundings, relaxing in the forest or by the river, reading*, learning French*, internet access* ... (* materials we can lend you)
We are away from big cities, but we do have villages around where you can go to the swimming-pool (in summer), visiting the village, weekly market, ... (6 km away 30 minutes walking).

-------------------
AT HOME:

Meals are taken in a family atmosphere. They are composed of raw (fruits, nuts, vegetables) and cooked (vegetables, starches) food, barely with meat/eggs/seafood (about once a week) and no dairy.
You are welcome as part of the family.
Bedroom in the house or in a part of the house that isnt finished renovating.
No smoking indoors.

------------------
INFORMATIONS

Helpers are welcome all year round. One person at a time.

We don't have any objection that you contact us to come few days later. It is even easier to organize for us. In general, stays of 3 weeks minimum. Long term preferred.

I can help you with the buses schedules to come to our place, ask me if you need.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use