help exchange   Host 6817
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Whangarei
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6817
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 2, 2016

We are looking for cheerful and enthusiastic helpers who are happy to work 4 hours a day as well as help with the dishes after dinner! In return we will provide a bed, three meals and invite you to join in our daily lives. We would like to find helpers that can stay for a few weeks at a time to get to know the area and the routine of our household.

We are a family of four. (Titouan (6yrs), Maris (13yrs), Nova (15yrs) and Autumn (the Mum). Patrice (the Dad) lives down the road in his own house and even though Autumn and Patrice are separated they see each other almost everyday and everyone is all very friendly. We don't all live at this house at the same time, the children have two houses but if you come and stay you will never be alone (unless you want!).

We have a very busy but funny household. Often with lots of children around. We like music, food, being social and spending time outside. If you play guitar, piano or sing it is a bonus because we love music too. Autumn is a school teacher and principal of the nearby country school (but she really wants to be a painter), Maris loves music and plays guitar and sinsg, Nova is sporty and arty, Titouan (the little one) is mostly just trouble, but he will teach you English very quickly because he likes to talk.

Patrice is French and Autumn likes to speak French in the house with helpers. The kids need to learn more French so French speakers are welcome.

We eat everything, including our animals (sheep and beef) but have had many vegetarian helpers and have no problem eating vegetarian food if you know some good recipes. In fact we love it! We love to learn about new foods and enjoy sitting at the table talking, drinking and learning about life in other parts of the world.

Autumn and Titouan are learning yoga so if you do yoga we would love to practice together.

We really enjoy hosting and have the most fun with people who just join in with daily life. However, we respect your privacy and provide a private room (a tidy sleep out, close to but separate from the house, with electricity). We will leave you along if you prefer quiet time.

We live 25km west of Whangarei on 4 hectares of land. Our home is an 80yr old bungalow that from the outside is nothing pretty (renovations needed) but is getting close to finished on the inside.

The location of our property is very peaceful. There is virtually no road noise just the usual farming, rural sounds. At the end of our road is a reserve where kiwi can be heard at night. We often cook our dinner outside in the summer.

We have good knowledge of places to visit in Northland to help with travel plans if needed. In the summer we usually go for a daily swim at the nearby school pool or to a river swimming hole.

We are non-smokers and would ask that any smokers do so outside and away from the house.

Most of the work would be yard work,helping with the daily running of the household and small jobs inside and outside the house.

Jobs like: sanding, painting, weeding, cleaning, building gardens, compost bins, mowing, cutting/stacking firewood.

Some of our dreams and projects include : building a pizza oven, a new and improved henhouse, pens for sheep, wooden steps to a shed, renovating a painting studio. If you are handy with a hammer and saw you could be very useful here!

We have cats, chickens a dog and some cows in the paddocks. You can roam and wander by foot, but if you have a car you will have more freedom to go to town, or explore the area.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use