help exchange   Host 6974
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Bugarach
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2 - 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6974
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 23, 2017

We prefer to speak French as not all of us speak English. We're very happy to help those who enjoy practising their French conversation, however rudimentary. Written communication is fine in English if it's easier.

We live on 2.5 hectares of meadow and woodland in the hills around the beautiful mountain of Bugarach.

We have quite a low impact way of life with compost/dry toilets, 12v renewable power and a vegetable garden that provided most of our food. The mains water supply is very restricted but we do have a beautiful roll-top firebath in the beginnings of a bathroom (another project) that overlooks the mountains. .

We live quite close to/amongst nature & spend a lot of time outside. We have a cabin for the family & there is a cabin (small), caravan (large) & tents for friends & HelpXers. We also have a levelled clearing that has been used for Yurts & Tipis - so if you have one bring it along!

Our projects are mainly centred around ecological construction, including:- the renovation of a ruin into a family eco education & creativity centre; the installation of a large greenhouse that will work in symbiosis with the bathroom & cycle powered washing machine; and water harvesting/irrigation systems. There are always plenty of other smaller projects.

We believe in using recuperated materials fo r ecological as well as economical reasons and recognise that they help inspire some very creative solutions. The work is physical & practical but there's enough of a range to suit most people with an interest in sustainable living projects, & there's a variety of collaborative & autonomous work.

Whilst we are passionate about our projects we do not follow a very strict work regime but rather respond to the happenings of the day and surroundings. We live in an area of quite breath-taking beauty with mountains, gorges, rivers and hot-springs all close by. There are also great markets & village fete (summer festivals) to enjoy. There is plenty of folklore & intrigue/history/mystery in the area too.

We've enjoyed many HelpX experiences with individuals, groups & families & look forward to many more. We have many friends in the locality - many of whom have started as HelpXers! We also have a large extended family that enjoys visiting.

Donc, si cela ressemble votre type de projet, entrer en contact et se fait-il essayer pendant quelques jours. Nous nous jouissons de vous rencontrer.
Nous sommes en train de construire beaucoup a ce moment, mais on a toujours besoin d'aide por preparer a manger et les choses de chaque jour, merci pour tous l'aide deja donne les rencontres merveilleux xxx a mes nouveaux amis , Anne je suis entrain de faire un grand changement dans ma vie et , I am changing a lot in my life just now and I will be ready to meet more lovely people who would like to share a bit of my life welcome ,,,Anne well my life I have to get back to basic building projects, the kitchen is being rebuilt, and I am reorganising the garden, but there are lots of activities that can be useful if you find something you'd like to do, I have always had lovely experiences with the people who have come to help and I always do my best that they will have a nice time too,good time for new project and better communication, I am learning computer skills, as I now have internet on my land, best wishes from Anne, my computer skills are very basic, but getting better
I also have an address in Scotland, in the outskirts of Ayr ,on the west coast of Scotland, not far from the beach,contryside, hills and 1 hour from Glasgow. It is opposite the Island of Arran . My contact details are the same, I have recently decided, due to past experiences, to ask that the people who would like to come are nonsmokers and do not drink alcohol. I hope this will be a help and not a hindrance. thankyou We are currently building and gardening mainly, but like to enjoy all our projects at no matter what stage. We are 2 adults, a 14 year old ,2 cats ,1 dog and lots of chickens.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use