help exchange   Host 7072
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Moncarapacho
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/2 hectare
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7072
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2017

HELP NEEDED WITH THE ALMOND HARVEST!!!
(end of August/beginning September)

I am happy to welcome gentle, friendly and motivated people to assist me with various projects at my home in the peaceful countryside in the Algarve, in the southeast of Portugal (between Olhao and Tavira). I live in an old farmhouse, renovated with environmentally friendly materials and solar panels. I enjoy a fairly simple and calm life on my land amidst orange, fig, olive and almond trees, 6km from the nearest village and 10km from the ocean and beach in a nature reserve. This is the sunniest spot with the purest air in Europe! Languages spoken are English, Dutch, Portuguese, some German and some French.

In addition to my house, I have a guesthouse for holiday rental, offering a refuge for people to de-stress and reconnect with the stillness in themselves, through connecting with the peaceful surroundings and, if they wish, through meditation practice. I also have a comfortable caravan, space for setting up tents and a Mongolian yurt where we meditate and hold open meditations for people from the area. It is also a great space for doing yoga. You are welcome to join the daily morning sitting meditation practice and Qi Gong stick exercises. I am a non-smoker, and non-meat eater.

Projects on the land, depending on the season, include: care and pruning of trees, harvesting almonds, figs and olives, preserving, landscaping, weeding, planting, laying paths, irrigation system maintenance, maintenance of vegetable and flower gardens, chopping/sawing firewood and clearing land.
Projects on buildings include: painting, carpentry, repairs, maintaining Mongolian yurt, if you have experience, making mosaics, helping with cleaning, cooking and other chores.
Some experience and/or knowledge of organic gardening and/or carpentry would be appreciated.

In exchange for 25 hours work per week, I offer accommodations in our caravan, with private bathroom/shower, refrigerator and cooking facilities, or in the guesthouse if it is not occupied by guests. Self-catering and/or sharing a warm vegetarian meal per day. I have wifi and bicycles available to tour the countryside or ride into town or to the beach, and I have two sweet dogs that love going on walks through the nature reserve near my house. You are welcome to join me to the local markets.
One or two helpers (ideal for a couple) are welcome to stay for 1 week and, if it feels right, for longer.
I am a Dutch guy living in the Algarve for 12 years, for most of the time with Jane, my American wife, who recently passed away.


Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use