help exchange   Host 7491
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 24
Persons: up to 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7491
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 26, 2017

Hello HelpXers - Currently I am looking for some assistance with a number of tasks that I am slowly tackling around the farm (with one of the best views in England) which mostly involves physical work: So if you are strong and willing; if you have a really good appetite; if you can work alone or in company; don't mind turning your hand to anything from dismantling and rebuilding fencing to cleaning chicken pens to splitting logs / breaking down timber for firewood / to daily feeding of all the animals etc please contact me. You will need to bring a really good appetite with you as I have more food than I now what to do with! Essentially you will be mostly working with me (sometimes without) to try and tidy up my farm! Six days per week - on days off I'm happy to take you to South Molton so you can take the bus and spend the day exploring Devon / Somerset. Hours are roughly speaking 9am to 12pm; then 2pm to about 4pm, including feeding all the animals of an afternoon - once the animals are fed in the afternoon your time is your own. All food provided - Breakfast is help yourself: Lunch cooked for you when I am around or help yourself when I am not: Dinner is cooked for you every day. Meals are meat / fish / egg based as I have loads of all of them!! I prefer longer stays to shorter ones - with a minimum of two weeks. Please DO NOT contact me if you are expecting central heating, cleanliness everywhere and someone to wait on you hand and foot as this isn't going to happen!
My animals are as follows: two sows, two goats plus two new kids, seven cattle and four young calves (including one pair of twins), six sheep, twelve equines, numerous chickens, a couple of geese, two Eagle Owls, four Barn Owls, three dogs and eight cats!
Although I don't have central heating, I do have the most efficient log burner, and all the rooms have electric heaters. Please make sure that you have thoroughly read through and understood the list of reasons why NOT to come to my farm; (you will see from Sophies review that she clearly did not).
Accommodation is either a static mobile home or a caravan, with shared bathroom facilities which are located within my house.
If you are still reading, in order to prevent any time-wasters contacting me - please see the list below of reasons why NOT to come to my farm.
1. The farm is nowhere near the town, so socialising in the evening is limited to relaxing, reading, listening to music, watching TV, chatting, English lessons, sleeping etc.
2. You need to be a meat-eater - full-stop. I'm afraid I don't do vegetarian cooking ever! Also, I am a smoker, so if you are very anti smoking, then this is definitely not the place for you!
3. I can ONLY collect and drop off from the bus station between the hours of 7am (0700) and 7pm (1900), as I do have commitments!
4. I offer meals and accommodation in exchange for about 4 - 5 hours work a day (daylight and weather depending), with one day off per week. On those days off, I will be happy to drop you to our nearest town where you can take the bus all over Devon and Somerset as you desire.
5. Livestock farming is not a business that generates wealth, so while I have no problem with you drinking alcohol, I ask that you purchase it for yourself, as I do not have enough money!
6. There is Wifi here but it is LIMITED to ten minutes per day. If you require the use of the internet you do need to bring your own computer / phone with you - and if you require more than ten minutes per day, you'll need to have your own access to a network - we do have 4G here on the farm.
7. My house is very small, so the HelpX rooms are separate from the house, and the bathroom is shared. The house is also over-run with animals, and therefore is not exactly clean.
8. The weather in the UK varies enormously. I have wellies, gloves, waterproof clothing etc..but it is up to you to bring your own warm clothing!
Any further questions please contact me via email. Please be advised that I am unable to accept anyone who wishes to bring pets with them, as we already have many dogs and cats here, who are unwilling to share their territory with newcomers! Apologies to anyone travelling with pets!

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use