help exchange   Host 7945
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Christchurch
All Year: As needed; more in Summer
Area (ha): Not applicable
Persons: Female, 1,
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7945
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 21, 2017

Wanted from time to time, someone, female, who enjoys cooking and can help by cooking tea quite often; Asian cooking is very acceptable - but please note that none of us like curries. Great if you can make suggestions of what you would like to cook for us; that is, great if you can offer ideas for a menu yourself.
Gardening is also on the list in summer. As well as laying out more garden here, the large garden in our old house needs constant attention.
Also I need help with sorting out more of our belongings still left in our old house.
So the person here would be required to cook tea sometimes, help with gardening when the weather is right, and do vacuuming and other housework; about 4 hours a day Monday to Friday.
Great if you can stay more than a week, as a week can go by very fast!

So someone who can cook, and doesn't mind a bit of housework and gardening, and regards themselves as good company is ideal. Someone who can sew well enough to take up trousers and do small alterations is a bonus.

Our large family home of 5-6 bedrooms has been replaced by a smaller, but not small, 4-5 bedroom home due to the insurance company not wanting to repair our larger home because of earthquake damage, and our new house is quite close-by.
We can still take international students, but not as many as before. For this year we have one High School student, a girl from Japan. For this reason we can only take girls here.
Short or medium term to help me "catch up" on things, or longer term, or come and go. I don't have an outside job, so the person would usually be working with me.

Our own 4 children are married with grandchildren, but all come together here for an informal tea once a week; currently on a Monday. We're not asking for help to cook then particularly, more for help with the setting up and cleaning up afterwards. I may lend you out to help them, if you stay a while.

We have a piano and some other instruments - musicians are very welcome. I have a library of nice DVDs.
We are a Protestant Christian family.
We have a pet rabbit, guinea-pigs and cats - no dogs.
Burwood is a suburb on the beach side of town, and parts of it were badly hit by the earthquakes.
The city is opening up, with a bright central section of shops, but much of it is still bare where so many buildings have had to be taken down. Rebuilding has started though, and the new bus exchange has been open for a while now.
The suburbs have their shops and malls, and we are near The Palms Mall.

We have been a homestay family for many years, for High School and Language school students, and for AFS exchange students. After the earthquake we also took some people as backpackers, via word of mouth from some who had previously been here, and can do that again too. Fee negotiable, a little lower than the hostels.
We have broadband and a reasonable amount of free wifi. Bikes are available.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use