help exchange   Host 79561
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Caupenne d'Armagnac
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79561
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 30, 2017

Who we are

We're a young at heart couple of English early retirees who have converted a barn to a house, which we'd like some help a to finish, renovating what will become a gite and taking control of the garden, which is a bit of a jungle at the moment. Never having had a garden in England, we're on a steep learning curve with our plot of 5000 square metres (just over an acre).
We're both keen cyclists, Nick especially loves doing cols in the Pyrenees and he keeps bonsai trees. Jackie enjoys sewing, patchwork and most things crafty, and is an aspiring textile artist, teaches English and basic French and plays guitar, though not brilliantly. We're members of the local cycling and walking clubs and active members of the local community.

Where we are

We live in the Gers, in south west France, surrounded by vineyards and 4km from a small town whose proudest boast is its motor racing circuit.

The help we need and what we'll provide in exchange

We would expect 5 hours help a day in exchange for all meals provided, accommodation either in our house or in the gite, depending on requirements, washing, full use of the internet and the possibility of borrowing bikes, depending on your height. No smoking in the house or gite, no pets, but we can cater for vegetarians or those with intolerances.


We're looking for either one person or a couple for 2weeks in December, to help with the work that still needs doing, including gardening, painting, gardening, some building, gardening, tiling and yet more gardening. We want to create hard standing for cars on what was a veg plot; we have a mini digger, but there will also be some "proper" digging out required. We also need to rebuild a chimney before winter sets in. As you'd be working alongside us, specific skills aren't necessary, just plenty of enthusiasm and some muscle.

Pick ups
We could pick up from Mont de Marsan railway station or from Pau, Tarbes/Lourdes, Toulouse, Biarritz or Bordeaux airports.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use