help exchange   Host 79692
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Carterton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79692
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2017

Horse riding, yard work and some toddler entertainment

I am looking for an experienced horse rider who can school a newly broken in Gypsy Horse gelding and ride at some horse shows (showing saddle classes and halter classes), do the yard work (mucking out, grooming, some lawn mowing, weed spraying etc), play with my two year old son while I'm getting dinner ready, and clean up after dinner etc. We are also expecting a foal in early December so there'd be some basic foal handling as well.

I really need someone over the October - 22 December (approx) period while my husband is away for work. I am currently pregnant so my own abilities are limited! Would prefer it if you were able to stay for that whole period, so the horse can get used to you. The horse you would be riding is only 14.3hh so you would need to be of a size suitable for that (i.e. under 6ft tall and less than 70kg).

We can at times accommodate couples, so although our profile is for one person please ask us if we can take two people. There is only the one queen size bed to share.

You will need to have good English.

We are a great place to be if you're looking to have some quiet time in the country. The closest town is 20km away and we donít often go there so itís recommended you have your own car.

We do expect you to use initiative and put some effort into the help here. Must love animals! No smokers please.

About us: We are a young couple who've worked hard to buy and develop an 18 acre lifestyle block in the beautiful Longbush Valley, Wairarapa. We welcomed our first child (a boy) in November 2015 and have another baby due in January 2018. We have horses, cats and dogs. Longbush is a lovely rural valley in the Wairarapa wine country, with the wine village of Martinborough just a 15 minute drive away. We're about a 45 min drive away from hiking in the Haurangi or Tararua Ranges, and about one and a half hours to drive to Wellington (the capital city). We're often very busy, hence we live a quiet life and are usually in bed by 10pm. We are not vegetarian and eat a lot of meat that has been produced by neighbours or hunted by us, but if you are a vegetarian have a talk to us about the options.

You will have a comfortable large sunny bedroom with queen size bed and access to your own bathroom although we do also need to use it as the washing machine is through there, as is the back door.

We have two house cats who are very friendly and part of the family so we cannot take volunteers who are allergic or have a strong dislike of cats.

We are new to HelpX but are also listed with another help exchange programme and have 100% great feedback.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use