help exchange   Host 79694
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Kurow, Waitaki
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,000 square metres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79694
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 26, 2017

I am a retiree, somewhat hard of hearing. I live in Kurow, a very small rural Waitaki riverside town, close to the long distance rail-trail bike trail. If you stay with me, I can offer you the loan of bicycles to ride on the bike trail, the use of a kayak on the river and some free golf lessons. Also free wifi if you bring your own computer. For accommodation I have a comfortable home with a single room or a larger room with a double bed. My home has one shared bathroom.

In exchange I would like you to average three hours work a day, five days a week. The hours do not include evening meal preparation and clean up time which I would also like you to do. I would like you to provide your own food to be shared with me and I will also provide some food which I will share with you.

The work is inclusive of house, garden and cooking. Also, as my hobbies are mechanical and I am currently refurbishing the back shed, some handyman skills and associated heavier work would be appreciated. Apart from preparing the evening meal, not necessarily all of these tasks may be required during each stay.

Overall, it would be best if you had your own car as there is as much as an hour or an hour and a half's drive depending on whether you are coming from Timaru or Oamaru. These are the nearest big towns where there is plenty of good value shopping. However there is a small Four Square supermarket and a part time quality butcher's shop in Kurow. I am also open to negotiating regarding picking you up, or driving you around if you don't have a car, especially if you are prepared to trade extra work in exchange.

The local producers and employers are mainly orchardists, vintners, dairy, sheep, and deer farmers. There is a meat works at Pukeuri, not far from Oamaru and a commercial laundry at Otematata, which is half an hour down the track. There are cafes and restaurants in Kurow and a medical centre and post shop all within 6 minutes walking distance of my home. There is a golf course, squash court, primary school and a library. If you like sewing you can join the Thursday sewing group. A steep hike up the hill will give you a wonderful view from the Hakataramea valley, down the river, including Kurow, all the way to the ocean; particularly spectacular when the nearby peaks and ranges are covered with snow in winter, which brings me to the weather here. It is mainly quite agreeable with many sunny days although we do tend to be a bit short on rain. In winter I have a log fire (occasionally there is snow in the garden), and the low sun shines through the full length windows in the bedrooms and lounge. Summers can be very hot, (by NZ standards), and dry.

I do not have any pets. I do not smoke or use illegal substances and I rarely drink alcohol. I otherwise live a very quiet life. I am looking for a mature person with similar attitudes to myself.

Although we were complete opposites in so many ways, my previous helper, was innovative, hard working and honest. I appreciate such qualities. As well, I find I warm to people who have a cheerful, friendly and enthusiastic and tolerant approach to spending time with me.
If you are keen to do HelpXing for me and think you can offer a fair exchange of help for accommodation, I would very much like to hear from you.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use