help exchange   Host 79742
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Otaki
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79742
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 25, 2017

I've recently returned to New Zealand after being away for 10 years in Europe (UK, Spain, and Switzerland). I've now got my own slice of paradise out in the country, a lifestyle block a couple of kms from the small town of Otaki.

My long term vision is to plant a forest garden with permaculture principles in one of the paddocks, with every fruit, nut, and berry tree that I can get my hands on. I've started with a variety of heritage apples, plums, and figs, plus the obligatory citrus - lemons, limes, and kaffir lime (for Thai cooking). Once I get the fencing into shape, I'll look at having a handful of sheep and goats. In the meantime, I have a neighbour's cattle helping to keep the grass down.

The house is perched on a hill with wonderful views out to the coast. I live here on my own and work full-time in Wellington during the week.

At the moment, because I'm working in Wellington during the week, I'm really only looking for help on weekends - from Friday evenings through to either Sunday or an early Monday morning departure (when I leave for work).

The property is a mix of three large flat paddocks and bush. I could do with some help getting the vegetable garden going (so far the rhubarb and garlic are doing fantastic, but the rest of it is a complete overgrown mess), establishing a herb garden, and collecting firewood and everything that falls out of the trees for making into mulch or compost.

Alternatively, help with the housework would be great, too, as that would free me up even more to work outside.

Guests have their own room and own bathroom in the main house. The bed is a queen (European king) with all bedding provided. The shower is excellent - clean and good water pressure. See the last photo for a picture of the guest bedroom and bathroom.

There is Internet, but it is not suitable for downloading or streaming movies or games.

I share my food with my visitors - breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I usually cook on weekends (another burgeoning hobby) and would be delighted to have guests join in.

The house - and in fact the whole property - is non-smoking.

I can collect and drop off visitors at Waikanae and Otaki train stations. Visitors can also meet me in Wellington on a Friday evening and join me on the train home.

Good things nearby are the Tararua ranges - great hiking but you must carry appropriate clothing for all weather conditions (people die up there at any time of the year) - and the nearby beach. Wellington is an hour by train from Waikanae. Trains to and from Otaki are less frequent, like one a day in each direction.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use