help exchange   Host 81918
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.97
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 81918
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 20, 2018

Hi, Steve and Joanne here.

We live on a pretty quiet 7.3 acre lifestyle block in Ruatangata, about 25 minutes north of Whangarei.

Looking to helper now, but also urgently looking for house sitters from July 7th to 26th too.. Payment can be arranged too, for the right helpers..

Amoung lots of repairs, renovations and repairs to the house, we are currently setting up a proper free range egg farm on our lifestyle block, so there's about 500 chooks (far, far away from the house) along with some goats, a fat lazy cat, rabbits, sheep, calves, ducks, Kune kune pigs and our small two year old daughter.

It's just beside a kiwi reserve so you can sometimes hear them at night. No noise pollution and views of the stars are amazing.

We are pretty easy going, and just looking for some help really!

We are a working farm, and we are trying our best to make things great, but this house is definitely a work in progress, so things can sometimes be a bit chaotic, a bit messy and suits people who get stuck in, and up for a little bit of rough and ready.
It will hopefully be good fun and we always do our best to make sure you enjoy your time here.

For those that are interested in farming or learning how to be a bit more self sufficient, I can teach you how to do basics stuff like fencing and anything else I can.

At the very least you'll definitely learn how to look after some animals!

Lots of jobs to do, mostly cleaning outside, tidying, moving stuff, maybe spraying weeds, maybe painting or planting, making nesting boxes for chooks and getting our sleepout ready for habitation!

It is almost ready to go now. At the very least it's a nice room to just chill out in. In the meantime you've got you're own double room, comfy queen size bed. And a piano. And the outside room will have power soon.

We can lend 1 good kayak, two mountain bikes, a good body board, wetsuits, an xbox 360 with your own TV, unlimited WiFi and lots of eggs..

There's quite a bit of things to do in Whangarei and the surrounding area, beaches, hot pools, hiking, cycling, there's a tree climbing adventure park, glo worm caves, surfing.. and Paihia is only an hour and a quarter away too.

I think we would be after about 4 hours help a day, but can be pretty flexible with combining days if you want to get up north to the beautiful Cape Reinga.

We'll provide a hopefully decent evening meal and breakfast stuff (that one is DIY). Maybe even a few beers too if you're lucky.
I'm an easy going vegetarian, but my wife and daughter definitely are not so can cater for most people, but I won't lie, Ultra Vegans are a little harder to cater for..:-)

Ideally you'd need a car, as we are about 25 minutes drive from town, and if you want to see things in Whangarei and surrounding areas, it'll be essential.

Definitely after people with farming skills, practical, self-motivated people, who can be trusted to get on with stuff!
You'll also need to be willing to feed some animals from time to time!

Ideally looking for x helpers committed to staying for a week, but possibly longer depending on what else we have going on.

I am in need of someone with some plumbing, farming, Electrical or carpentry skills, if that's you then please give us a shout, we will DEFINITELY make it worth your while! But anyone who likes the sound of staying with up, please give us a shout!!

Thanks and look forward to hearing from you!

Steve, Joanne and Cosima

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use