help exchange   Host 8246
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange www.helpx.net


Moyon
All Year: No
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: Up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8246
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2017

House Sitting in Normandy

We are looking for help from mid August.

We are a bilingual French/English family with 4 kids (12, 11,11, 8). Very sadly our 2 Brazilian helpers have left after 18 months to go back home. Since 2010 we have had over 50 helpers, with quite a few staying for over a year (and some over 2) which has been fabulous.

This stay would really suit a couple or 2 friends, so that you have company as we are out all day and away pretty regularly. Or someone happy with their own company, and good at visiting by themselves. We would prefer people looking to stay for the whole period from mid July up to the end of August (and beyond if you want).

The principal reason we are currently looking for helpers is for when we will be away quite a lot over the summer and need help with our holiday rentals - mostly doing the meet and greets, and some gardening etc. We are also selling our house and gites, so we need everything to look beautiful in case of visitors.

We are in a great location for visiting Normandy - an hour from Mont St Michel in one direction, Bayeux tapestry and the D-Day beaches in the other and close to Caen, Granville, Coutances, Cherbourg and 1.5 hours from Rennes.

HAVING A DRIVING LICENSE AND BEING ABLE TO DRIVE A MANUAL CAR ARE AN ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL PART OF THE JOB. Sorry to shout, but I cannot make this clear enough. If you have your own car that would be even better! You can generally have use of a car with a bit of prior notice.

We will provide an allowance for food.

So basically the job probably averages less than 20 hours a week:


• Walking the dogs daily – we have two unruly spaniels. Mostly I walk them myself but if I can't then this is part of the job

• Gardening – weeding, weed wacking/strimming, mowing, watering, picking fruit, veg etc depending on the season.

• Generally keeping the place in working order so that it looks great for our self-catering rental guests.

• Doing the meet and greets for the gξtes and beach house when we are away.

• Doing the recycling, bins.

Accommodation

You have your own very nice apartment (built in 2014), which has one double bedroom and one small loft bedroom; open plan sitting room and kitchen, bathroom and toilet.

We are a bilingual French /English family and are happy to speak either at home. We are happy to have people from anywhere as long as they are prepared to speak either English or French.

There are always things to be done, so any helper must be really independent, a team player, a self starter and preferably a non-smoker.

We have a discount with Brittany Ferries for those travelling to & from the UK.

Please get in touch if you are interested.

Back to Top www.helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2017, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use